NARS Sheer Glow – “Mont Blanc”

Ahh yes, the highly coveted NARS Sheer Glow Foundation. Everyone remember when this foundation was all the craze and every cosmetic company out there attempted to ‘dupe’ this product? Probably a year ago or so, I wrote a review on this foundation and complained about the missing pump. In that review, I included where you could find the pump (since the MAC pumps don’t fit), and at that time, my color of choice was “Gobi.”

Welcome to my Sheer Glow review: round 2.

Since then, I’ve run out of my “Gobi” shade, I decided I liked the foundation without the pump, and I re-purchased in a different shade – “Mont Blanc.”

I liked “Gobi” and puchased it originally because it was created specifically for Asian skin tones (according to sephora.com). However, it was SO yellow for me. On the flip side, it did neutralize my pink cheeks wonderfully because of the strong yellow pigment. As I’ve mentioned before, my undertones aren’t strictly yellow – and, in fact, if I were to wear MAC foundations, I would fall into the NW category.

I decided I didn’t like having the pump (which you have to purchase separately) because the cap doesn’t go over the pump. I found that irritating since all my other foundations did that; and, I felt uneasy about having the pump left out in the open like that. Perhaps, that’s just my OCD-ness. :)

What it is: A glowing, satin-finish foundation with sheer and buildable coverage.

What it does: This Sheer Glow Foundation enhances, without masking, your overall natural complexion. The weightless formula hydrates the skin while complexion brightening properties improve skin brightness, radiance, and texture, leaving skin with a luminous, sensual glow.

Suitable for normal, normal-to-dry, dry, and very dry skin types.

Research Results: (according to sephora.com)
– 100% say skin felt soft and smooth
– 96% say it evens out skintone
– 96% say they would purchase it if it were available on the market
– 96% say they would recommend it to a friend
– 92% say skin looks brighter and more radiant

This is the only foundation I’ve finished and re-purchased, which tells you a lot since I purchase so many foundations. There was a period where I used nothing but this for months! I’m glad I’ve rekindled my love for this foundation because now I remember why I’ve missed it.

I chose “Mont Blanc” this time around because I felt that it was a better match. On Sephora’s website, it explains that the shade “Mont Blanc” is for fair skintones “with slight pink undertones.” I liked “Gobi” and there was nothing wrong with it; but it’s nice to switch it up a bit, right?

I feel that “Mont Blanc” is a better match for me (though I can get away with using “Gobi”) because it’s the perfect balance between pinkish and yellowish undertones. It’s a great combination of both, which I find unusual because normally foundations cater to those with only yellow undertones and only pink undertones. Neutral colors don’t work for me and it’s quite rare you find a fair shade that falls in between pink and yellow.

I’m quite pleased with my new color match. I would still recommend “Gobi” to those with strong yellow undertones; and, try “Mont Blanc” if it was not quite what you were looking for. The color range is impressive and the NARS line caters to many complex combinations of undertones. I know many light skinned individuals who don’t use “Mont Blanc” or “Gobi,” but everyone equally loves the texture, formula, and finish of this foundation.

Made in USA.
Item retails for $42.00.
1 fl. oz

*Quotes extracted from http://www.sephora.com.
*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)

4 thoughts on “NARS Sheer Glow – “Mont Blanc”

  1. Great stuff from you, man. Ive read your stuff before and youre just too awesome. I love what youve got here, love what youre saying and the way you say it. You make it entertaining and you still manage to keep it smart. I cant wait to read more from you. This is really a great blog.

  2. Pingback: Top 8 Makeup products everyone needs to try !!!!NOW!!!! Current Makeup Wish list by Anna Mamadzhanova |

  3. Pingback: Top 8 Makeup products in my current Makeup Wish list. Article by Anna Mamadzhanova |

Leave a comment