REVIEW: Yves Saint Laurent Fusion Ink Foundation SPF18

As you know, foundations and base products are always on my radar. I get into moods when I’m really into YSL makeup and sometimes I get into moods where I don’t feel interested in them at all. Lately, I’ve been in the mood for YSL makeup and decided to get the Yves Saint Laurent Fusion Ink Foundation after reading reviews online. To get to the point (lol) I love this foundation and it’s quickly climbed its way to the top of my foundation list. It’s well worth the high price tag and I recommend it for all occasions and all seasons.

008

009

The Yves Saint Laurent Fusion Ink Foundation is a “revolutionary, fine-as-ink foundation with broad spectrum SPF 18 that perfects the skin while it wears weightlessly for 24 hours.” Designed to be long-wear, it’s deceivingly lightweight and completely natural looking on the skin. If you’re one to not wear foundations or you’re just plain afraid of foundations…I’d suggest this one. It’s undetectable on the skin because of its texture; it’s impressive that it provides a skin-like finish and controls oil very well.

The Fusion Ink Foundation is named correctly, lol. It’s very much like ink for the skin. It’s also very watery, so you need to shake it really well before applying. It blends like butter on the skin and disappears into nothing; surprisingly, it provides really great coverage so a little bit of product goes a long way. In addition, when you apply more coverage since the formula is buildable, it doesn’t get thick or cakey on the skin.

“Get all-day comfort, broad spectrum sun protection, and a soft-matte finish with this featherweight foundation that suits every skin type. Its innovative hybrid stain technology provides a lightweight yet high-coverage formula, and its exclusive extendable polymers offer buildable coverage that lasts for a flawless finish.” I’m very impressed with this foundation and I highly recommend it whether you like foundation or not. More importantly, whether you have good skin or not, this foundation will help both and makes the use versatile as well. I’ve worn this for weddings and nights out, but I’ve also worn it to work and on the weekends — just with a lighter hand.

010

I purchased the shade “B10 Porcelain” and I’m quite happy with it. It’s the lightest shade in the range and leans towards a neutral-peach undertone, rather than pink. It matches my skin nicely and blends out seamlessly, which I find to be the most important feature in foundation. I’ve applied this with a buffing brush, a foundation brush, and my fingers. However, I’ve noticed I don’t like how it looks when I’ve used a damp Beauty Blender. I think it’s because it breaks up the natural formulation of the foundation. The best thing about this foundation is the “special sweat and sebum-controlling agents” that allow for 24-hour of coverage and wear. I would never wear makeup for 24 hours, but even on long days (12+ hours), this foundation has held up nicely.

Oil-control is great without the skin feeling or looking dry, and even through humidity, heat, and and sweat, this foundation has looked great. It doesn’t budge and it doesn’t wear off in weird spots like some foundations do. Additionally, the foundation’s “dry oil complex allows it to set in seconds,” which makes application really fast and there’s also no need for a powder since the foundation works well on its own.

011

I love this foundation and it’s one that I reach for every day almost. Even on weekends or when I’m going to an evening yoga class, this foundation doesn’t bother me or make my skin look bad. Even when my skin isn’t doing as well, I find that this foundation helps you cheat a little bit. Because it’s “formulated with pure-micro-coated pigments, it delivers lasting, radiant color, and the face-zoning applicator allows you to perfectly apply it to the face for precise, easy-to-use application that’s never cakey or heavy.” I highly recommend this foundation because it’s well worth the price tag. In fact, if I didn’t have any other foundations to wear and I was left with just this, I wouldn’t even complain. :)

Retails for $60.00 USD.
Made in France.

Leave a Reply

