REVIEW: Boscia Sake Treatment Water to Hydrate and Brighten

Now that summer is quickly coming to a close with fall upon us, my brain has already decided to plan ahead into the cooler and drier months. While actual cooler weather for Texas is still a few months away, I’ve regardless began to incorporate hydrating products into my skincare routine. Additionally, many of you may already know that I’m a big fan of SK-II products and I find that it’s important to invest in skincare. So between the two, I was excited to see that Boscia had released their new Sake Treatment Water to Hydrate and Brighten. Much like SK-II products, sake is at the heart of this treatment water so I was curious about how it would compare.

As an “innovative, sake-infused, Treatment Water that hydrates, brightens, and preps the skin for maximum absorption of treatments, serums, and moisturizers,” this is a great first-step in my skincare routine. For now, I’m not using typical toners per se; instead, I’m using the Boscia Sake Treatment Water to prep my skin after cleansing both morning and night. This “Sake Treatment Water allows for greater absorption of skincare products. It is rich in vitamins and minerals that deliver powerful hydration and brightening benefits to the skin. Formulated with the finest sake grade to deliver powerful hydration and brightening benefits to skin, it works to revive the skintone and texture while it primes the skin.”

005

The use of this product is much like the SK-II Facial Treatment Essence in that you pump the liquid into your hands and press it directly onto the face. As you gently press the product into the skin, you are to massage onto the skin to activate formula for instant hydration and a brighter complexion. You can use a cotton pad, but it’s probably not a good idea since you can waste so much product like that. Occasionally, I’ll pump a little onto a thin cotton pad and place it on a specific trouble area (like a breakout) if my skin really needs it.

I really like this treatment water and I really enjoy starting off my skincare routine with this product. It’s non-drying and doesn’t leave a slippery feeling on the skin like some toners do. I like that the ingredients are all essential for good skin, such as: sake, which is “highly-rich in vitamins and minerals to provide powerful hydration and brightening benefits.” Additionally, ingredients like vitamin B3 and Sodium Hyaluronate “revives skin’s healthy tone and texture to prime skin for greater absorption of products,” and “hydrates as it penetrates skin and supports the skin’s ability to attract and maintain moisture” respectively. And, finally, “Jojoba Leaf helps to prevent free radical damage while nourishing the skin.”

006

I use this product as instructed morning and night before my skincare routine begins. My skin looks bright and healthy even before I carry onto applying serums and creams. More importantly, it doesn’t interfere with my original routine and I do feel that it has made a positive and effective impact on how my routine unfolds. There is pretty much no smell to the product and feels very much like water, just a little thicker in consistency. It absorbs nicely into the skin without drying out the skin. My skin is nicely prepped before moving onto other steps, so I feel that it’s made a huge difference in my skin such as pore sizes and redness. When I do have a minor breakout, I concentrate the product onto those areas and the trouble spots seem less irritated and red.

I can’t say that this product can replace SK-II, but it comes very closely to being effective for a cheaper price. However, it’s still expensive for what it is because it’s $46.00 USD for 1.85 oz. Also, since I feel that I will be going through the product quickly because I use it day and night and as a treatment product, it’s not really that cost-effective. If you want to compare it to SK-II, however, it still comes out to be cheaper so that may be a selling point for some. For example, even if you double the amount (2 bottles = 3.7 oz.) of the Boscia Sake Treatment Water to Hydrate and Brighten at $46.00 each, you’ll be at $92.00 before taxes. This is still cheaper than 2.5 oz. bottle of SK-II for $105.00 before taxes. I still recommend the Boscia treatment water, so if you’re looking for something that’s sake-related, give this a go. Next on my list is the Sake Balm, which has been on my radar so check back for that!

Made in USA.
Retails for $46.00 USD.
Item contains 1.85 oz.

Leave a Reply

