Origins Retexturizing Mask with Rose Clay

Masks are an important part of my night time skincare routine, and it’s always an exciting moment when I’ve found something new I like. Generally, with skincare and masks, I tend to re-purchase what I know works since I have a fear of breaking out if I experiment too much. I came across the Origins Retexturizing Mask with Rose Clay last month, and I was curious to try this mask since I haven’t tried Origins stuff in a really long time.

007

Origins Retexturizing Mask with Rose Clay is considered to be an “innovative 2-in-1 mask” that’s “made with Mediterranean Rose Clay, Canadian Willow Herb and exfoliating Jojoba beads.” These ingredients combined are to help “gently deep clean while refining skin’s texture, and pores [will have] appeared to vanish.” This moussey mask is pink in color and kind of gritty. After I’ve thoroughly cleansed my skin, I apply a generous layer of this mask on my skin. Overall, it spreads nicely, dries in a decent enough of time, and really seems to be gentle on the skin.

The gritty texture does blend away and makes removing the mask somewhat easier since it kind of exfoliates off the skin. Additionally, you can use the leftover “grit” to smooth over your face as you’re washing off the mask. I recommend jumping in the shower to remove this because it gets kind of messy since it’s clay. Also, I’ve found that it helps to stand underneath the warm water for a bit to get the mask softer so that it melts off the skin.

009

I don’t think that this mask is all that great for cleaning out the pores or detoxing the skin. Because it’s a re-texturizing formula, I feel that it’s meant to exfoliate, cleanse the skin, to allow for clarity to be restored. For that reason, this isn’t a mask to use more than once a week — if that. While the formula itself wasn’t drying, the grit was pretty severe even though it did leave my skin baby soft and smooth. When washing this mask off, I make sure the loosen the mask on my skin by wetting it and just letting it pretty much wipe off. Then, when there’s very little grit left, I use that to gently exfoliate my skin.

I like this mask and I think it’s a good maintenance product. However, since I like exfoliators that are chemical based, I felt that I could get better results with something that was actually an exfoliator. I don’t think this is something that’s all that great for sensitive or dry skins, but it’s effective in restoring clarity to dull skin because of the brightening and exfoliating properties.

Retails for $25.00 USD.

Leave a Reply

