Make Up For Ever HD Foundation vs. NEW Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation

As many of you may have already realized, Make Up For Ever has released their newest HD foundation called the Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation. The packaging is very similar to its original Make Up For Ever HD Invisible Cover Foundation reviewed here. The silver band that goes around the packaging just under the cap signifies the newest HD foundation addition to the range.

002

The original was a favorite among many and developed its own cult following, it seems. The new ultra HD foundation is considered to be a better version of its former self as it’s described as the “bestselling HD foundation that appears more invisible, comfortable, and natural-looking than ever.” Additionally, the new foundation claims to “create a naturally flawless complexion—on and off camera. Completely invisible under the latest, super-focused 4k lens, this revolutionary foundation features uniquely-coated pigments that provide medium coverage with a lightweight texture that looks just like skin. Long-lasting with a natural-looking finish, Ultra HD Liquid Foundation is formulated with hyaluronic spheres for time-released hydration that ensures comfortable wear on all skin types. Now available in an expanded range of 40 shades to match all skintones, Ultra HD is the perfect everyday foundation for a flawless complexion—and an unretouched life.”

003

In the old formula, I was shade #115 and it was a really good match. Mixed with both pink and yellow undertones, it balanced out my complexion really well and also help up really well too. The natural-ness of a medium coverage foundation was really impressive. Some differences right away with the new formula is that the color range has changed and re-named. I don’t think they translate exactly from the previous shade to the new shade. I chose the shade Y215, which is the “Yellow Alabaster” shade in the new formula. As you can see, it’s yellow-er than #115 but not by much. It also seems less runny than the original formula, which was something that I liked about the old version.

The texture of the Ultra HD is much thicker than before, but it’s not that thick compared to other foundations. It still blends nicely and looks natural on the skin; it also fills in pores really well, doesn’t accentuate fine lines, and evens the complexion instantly. The other shades before Y215 were much more pink than the previous formulas and it would’ve been impossible for me to use them. I don’t feel as happy with Y215 than I was with #115, but the difference is subtle on my skin.

004

005

The Ultra HD is nice and feels nice, but I honestly prefer the original formula. Maybe it’s the color-match or maybe it’s the runnier consistency that I prefer in foundations. Both work nicely, but I think the previous version wore better and lasted better on my skin when oil broke through. The new Ultra HD seems to adhere well to the skin, but I don’t really like the super-matte, dry look and I felt that that’s what this foundation did. As for HD results, I’m not an actress and there’s no reason for me to be on stage or anything — let alone be photographed in HD all the time, lol. The real-life results are nice on the skin, but I feel like I have to do extra work to get it look more dewy and natural.

Retails for $36.00 USD.
Made in France.

6 thoughts on “Make Up For Ever HD Foundation vs. NEW Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation

  1. I really want to try this foundation! I think I’m going to buy it and see what’s all the fuss about! I normal wear Estée Lauder double wear foundation but I want to try this so bad! Great post.

  2. I love the ‘original’ Make up forever HD foundation and judging from your photos your review is accurate. I may test it out the consistency in Sephora, but I wouldn’t change a good thing.

Leave a Reply

