Marc Jacobs Beauty Highliner Gel Eye Crayon in “Blacquer 42”

A good eyeliner can be life-changing. It sounds dramatic, but in reality, the moment you realize that you can be panda-eye free, there’s something really comforting about that! For the last few years, I’ve abandoned eyeliners in general because I was tired of it never staying put. From low-end to high-end, I’ve tried a variety of eyeliner — all with the claims that it was going to be waterproof, smudge-proof, tear-proof, sweat-proof, etc. In a surprising twist, my future sister-in-law recommended the Marc Jacobs Beauty Highliner Gel Eye Crayon and I’m so glad she did.

001

002

The Marc Jacobs Beauty Highliner Gel Eye Crayon in “Blacquer 42” is a standard black eyeliner that is a “waterproof gel crayon eyeliner that’s long wearing with intense color payoff.” This “extreme-wear, waterproof eyeliner” is nearly bullet-proof. I don’t say these things lightly since I feel that I’ve pretty much tried all kinds of eyeliners out there. Before this one, my favorites were from Urban Decay and NARS.

“Like a gel pot eyeliner encased within a crayon, this breakthrough product is exclusive to Marc Jacobs Beauty. The super-malleable formula glides on smoothly for a flawless, precise application, and then sets in place for all-day wear. A built-in sharpener makes sure the crayon always has a perfect point for a sharp look on the go. It offers intense color payoff and is available in an array of richly pigmented shades, including Blacquer, the blackest, shiniest black.”

003

004

This eyeliner stays put. Even with water and soap, the swatch on my hand didn’t budge. When I was testing them at Sephora, even their waterproof makeup remover barely a made a dent in removing this product off my skin. As a contact lens wearer, this made me wary. However, because it stays exactly where you apply it, it doesn’t even creep into sensitive parts of my eyes; and thus far, I haven’t experienced any discomfort or irritation. In addition, the intensity of this black eyeliner is pretty insane. It’s not a flat, matte black which makes it easy to wear since it won’t look like you drew your line on with a marker, lol. This is perfect for nights out when there’s dancing and sweating — I’m thinking this will last all night too.

Like foundations, I think eyeliners are another really personal item. Not all eyes are created equally, so it’s best to search for something that works for you, your needs, and more importantly, your eyes. I was tired of product transfer, because in the past, no matter what eyeliner I’d use I was always plagued with panda-eyes. The liners would always smudge even with the slightest of humidity in the air. If you’re an eyeliner persona and you need it as a part of your regular routine, I’d suggest giving the Marc Jacobs one a shot. There’s a ton of colors to choose from. To remove, I use the Neturogena Eye Makeup Remover and I haven’t had any problems with it. Since I was follow-up with a cleansing oil to remove my makeup, I don’t find this eyeliner difficult to work with.

Made in Korea.
Retails for $25.00 USD.

3 thoughts on “Marc Jacobs Beauty Highliner Gel Eye Crayon in “Blacquer 42”

Leave a Reply

