MAKE UP FOR EVER Step 1 Skin Equalizer: Mattifying Primer

One of my best friends is getting in a few months, and I’ve been on the hunt for a mattifying primer for ages now. I decided to explore the Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer: Mattifying Primer, which is described to be a “makeup primer that assists with balancing the skin’s texture and tone for smoother, more even, and longer-lasting makeup wear.” Previously, I wrote a post about the Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer: Smoothing Primer. I’ve been very happy with that primer, and I wanted to see if the Mattifying Primer would be better or any different.

008

In the warmer months, it’s important that I find a primer that specifically helps with oil-control. This is really hard to come by; and, I’ve found that most are really drying or apply clumpy on the skin. Because I like smooth makeup application, I’m picky about how my skin looks after the primer is applied. While I really like the Smoothing Primer, I found that the Mattifying Primer didn’t apply evenly as the smoothing one. The product pills a bit; so, there’s been times where I’ve had to pat the product in because smoothing it on the skin made the primer pill and clump on the skin.

009

Additionally, I found that oil-control in particular was almost non-existent. Like most primers, the Mattifying Primer was good with giving a smooth appearance to the complexion and filled in my pores. But, it didn’t control oil very well; and, by that, I mean it didn’t do anything different than other primers I’ve applied. Makeup application was fine, and longevity of the makeup was fine too. If I had to choose, I’d pick the smoothing primer over the mattifying one.

I chose the travel size version to try and I’m okay with keeping it around. However, I wouldn’t purchase the full sized version since I’m happy with the Smoothing Primer. I didn’t really like this particular primer, but I think it was because I had higher expectations for its alleged claim to controlling oil lol.

Made in Italy.
Retails for $16.00 USD for travel size.

One thought on “MAKE UP FOR EVER Step 1 Skin Equalizer: Mattifying Primer

Leave a Reply

