REVIEW: Boscia Tsubaki Cleansing Oil-Gel

Usually finding face cleansers haven’t been a problem for me, since I always double cleanse at night: 1) using a cleansing oil to remove my makeup; and then 2) washing my face with a gentle face wash. In the mornings, I’ve been using Cetaphil and that’s been my number one choice for years now. Out of the blue, I wanted to try a cleanser and picked the Boscia Tsubaki Cleansing Oil-Gel because of the product description. Now that I’m really into anti-aging products more than ever, I’ve been thinking more and more about keeping my skin hydrated and plump rather than keeping it matte and free of oil as possible.

This cleanser is a “antioxidant-packed cleansing oil-gel formulated to remove impurities and makeup while protecting the skin’s moisture barrier, leaving skin smoother and baby-soft.” Because it’s an oil-gel cleanser, you don’t use it like a typical cleansing OIL. Keep in mind that when using a cleansing oil, you pump the product onto dry hands and rub it directly onto your dry face to remove makeup. With this cleanser, however, you use it like a regular face wash — damp hands and damp face — which makes it perfect for after my makeup removal.

015

The Boscia Tsubaki Cleansing Oil-Gel “hydrates and replenishes, leaving skin silky smooth. A signature, lightweight botanical blend of tsubaki oil (camellia oil), wakame (Japanese sea kelp), and rice bran oil hydrates, smooths, and protects for the appearance of firm, youthful skin. Formulated for all skin types, allatoin, an anti-bacterial plant derivative, deeply cleanses and maintains moisture levels.” This cleanser is super light and gentle, which is exactly what I’m looking for when I’m just looking for something to wash my face after I’ve removed my makeup with a cleansing oil. While my face is still wet, I pump 3 pumps into my hands and apply it to my face. There is minimal lather, so don’t expect anything sudsy and fluffy! It’s just a smooth gel that almost doesn’t feel like anything.

As I smooth it onto my face and gently massage the product in, I like to concentrate it around my nose, chin, and my eye area. Then I sweep past my cheeks and forehead before rinsing the product off. My skin is left super soft and clean — but not squeaky clean and dry-feeling. I like that my skin feels hydrated and smooth, so it makes it easier to move onto my nighttime skin care routine afterwards. I don’t think that this cleanser alone will maintain the “the appearance of firm, youthful skin,” and I can’t say that this cleanser is responsible for “protecting” my skin by any means…however, it feels nice, cleanses nicely, and leave my skin comfortable in the end which I like. Occasionally, I’ve used this in the morning to cleanse my face instead of the Cetaphil and that’s been perfectly okay (not life-changing). As a single-step makeup remover, I’m not sure how it will do since I wear strong waterproof Japanese mascaras in the day. I recommend this cleanser if you’re looking for something gentle, hydrating, and soothing on the skin.

Made in USA.
Retails for $28.00 USD.
Item contains 5 oz.

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: Boscia Tsubaki Cleansing Oil-Gel

Leave a Reply

