Clarins Instant Light Radiance Boosting Complexion Base in 01 Rose

I’ve been mixing iridescent primers with my base makeup for a long time now. It adds a subtle tint of glow to any base makeup and really helps the skin look dewy and glowy. I stopped mixing for awhile due to the cold and dreary weather, but now that the sun is out and I’m in the mood for light, glowy makeup, I’ve been back into mixing a glowy primer with my base makeup. Recently, I purchased the Clarins Instant Light Radiance Boosting Complexion Base in 01 Rose and I’m really pleased with how it works with my makeup and alone.

059

060

Clarins Instant Light Radiance Boosting Complexion Base in 01 Rose is one of two shades. I feel that the pink shade is always more brightening, and it also highlights while feeling/looking more natural on my slightly pink skin. Clarins writes that this highlighter or “radiance boosting complexion base” is designed to “boost your natural radiance with Instant Light radiance-boosting complexion base.” In addition, the “moisturizing formula illuminates and corrects your skin tone while hydrating, soothing and brightening your skin. It’s available in two different formulas to suit your needs, whether you need to cover redness or just want to brighten your gorgeous skin.”

Shades include:
– Rose: brightens all complexions.
– Champagne: corrects redness.

Active ingredients:
Aqua/Water/Eau, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Alcohol, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Peg/Ppg-18/18 Dimethicone, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Bisabolol, Sodium Chloride, Silica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Glycerin

061

062

What I like to do with this is to wear over foundation, rather than mixing it in like I used to with other highlighting primers. I don’t necessarily wear this all over my face; what I like to do is after foundation application, I apply a few dots of this along my cheek bones, down my nose bridge, and right at the center of my forehead. Then, I blend it out with a small brush. I goes onto the skin beautifully and blends out without looking too harsh, too pink, or too highlighter-y. It disappears into the skin just right so that you don’t really detect it. Your skin has a subtle halo-like glow that blends in naturally with your skin.

When I am in the mood to mix this in with foundation, I just pump a little bit next to my foundation blob and mix it together. Then, I apply the mixture onto my skin and blend with my usual foundation buffing brush or the Beauty Blender. I feel that it does dilute the foundation a bit so it’s nice for when I want much lighter, but glowier coverage. The Rose shade is great at brightening the complexion and I feel that it really does add something extra to how my skin looks. It doesn’t really correct skin tone or act as a primer/base that helps my makeup last any longer. However, for the brightening and glowy effects, I’m happy with the product and I recommend it.

Made in France.
Retails for $37.00 USD.
Item contains 1.0 oz.

Leave a Reply

