REVIEW: La Roche-Posay Toleriane Ultra

So, I’ve been re-vamping my winter skincare routine for the day time due to the strange weather we’ve been having in Texas. With the harsh winds and coldness that my skin is normally not used to, my skin had gotten rough and dry in some parts, while still being oily in the dreaded t-zone. In addition, with some recent stresses in life, my skin had gotten bumpy and irritated while breakouts had been surprisingly leaving me alone. When I have an emergency situation like this, I like to refer back to really gentle products that I know aren’t going to totally disrupt my skincare routine.

Lately, I’ve been using the La Roche-Posay Toleriane Ultra and it’s helped my skin out tremendously the last few weeks. While I may stop using it once my skin clears up and returns to normal, it’s certainly a great product to have around for those “just in case” moments.

005

006

The La Roche-Posay Toleriane Ultra is a moisturizer designed for “daily care to reduce the signs of skin reactivity.” It “provides hydration and alleviates irritation and provides intense, long-lasting comfort for highly intolerant skin.” As for my case, with the weather and stress, my skin was inflammed, red, and irritated from anything and everything. Since this is “formulated with 0% preservatives, 0% parabens, 0% fragrance, 0% alcohol, colorants and 0% lanolin,” it was a super gentle and soothing product to use.

The “patented packaging technology guarantees a contamination free, ultra pure formula with every application.” And, in addition, “Neurosensine, a unique calming agent to help[s] reduce signs of reactivity immediately upon application and pure, natural shea butter acts as an anti-inflammatory to hydrate and soothe skin.” It was just what my skin needed at this time.

Key Ingredients:
Neurosensine: Helps reduce signs of reactivity immediately upon application. Ultra Purified and Minimalist Formula: 0% harmful, irritating ingredients.

The texture of the La Roche-Posay Toleriane Ultra is thick and greasy on contact. Because of this, one pump of it is all you need. I just pump a little onto my hand and rub it in to warm the product up. Then, I take some a swipe it onto my cheeks, forehead, nose, and chin. I blend the product in — continuously warming it up on my skin — and then patting the product in afterwards to make sure my skin absorbs it. My skin feels instantly better and soothed, redness is reduced, and the bumps are still there but less noticeable. It’s surprisingly easy to work with, despite the texture feeling a bit difficult in the beginning.

007

In the mornings, I’ve had to wait a little longer than usual for the product to absorb before applying my suncreen and then my base makeup. At night, I use two pumps to really get my skin safely coated in this stuff. In 3 days, my skin was pretty much back to normal. The bumps were nearly all gone, pimples that were in the process of healing prior were gone, and my skin was well-hydrated and plump from all the extra attention. However, it does get a bit oily and I noticed my makeup caking a bit around my nose and mouth — even when I didn’t have these tendencies before. After blotting a bit, it seemed okay. This stuff did wonders for my skin and seems to be soothing for my skin after a chemical peel. Although I wouldn’t incorporate it permanently into my morning routine as my daytime moisturizer, it’s great for healing.

I think this is just good to have around, even if I don’t use it every day. When my skin is pretty good and I get a pimple or two, I apply this moisturizer before applying a spot treatment and it’s worked wonders for me. I don’t need it every day, but when my skin really needs it, I really benefit from using it so I highly recommend it!

Made in France.
Retails for $36.99 USD.

Leave a Reply

