REVIEW: Sulwhasoo Snowise EX Brightening Water

Not many people incorporate toners into their skincare routines, but for me, it’s an important part of restoring my skin’s balance after makeup removal/cleansing. Previously, I’ve written about a variety of toners, such as the AmorePacific Treatment Toner, the Clé de Peau Beauté Refreshing Balancing Lotion, the La Mer The Oil Absorbing Tonic, and the Estée Lauder Micro Essence Skin Activating Treatment Lotion. I’ve also reviewed the SK-II Facial Treatment Essence as well.

After using up those products, I’ve been using the Sulwhasoo Snowise EX Brightening Water, now that this Korean range is being sold on the Nordstrom website.

001

The Sulwhasoo Snowise line is specifically catered to those who are interested in brightening/whitening effects. As this is a Korean line, it’s not surprising that the Snowise range is designed for these effects. While no product can really alter or truly “whiten” your skin drastically, I like the brightening effects that many Korean lines provide. The EX Brightening Water is a “gel-textured toner that delivers ultimate hydration to your skin, preparing it to receive the benefits of brightening treatments that follow. White ginseng polysaccharides help to achieve a clearer and more refreshed-looking complexion, mulberry root extract gently exfoliates and moisturizing properties enable the skin to improve brightness.”

Personally, I like toners that are soothing and not stripping. I like beneficial skincare ingredients to be a part of the ingredients, and I prefer toners that actually do something — such as soothe, treat, brighten, and hydrate. The Snowise toner balances and brightens my skin, while keeping it hydrated and supple. It’s the perfect first step before I apply my serum/moisturizer; and, I like to use this toner for both daytime and nighttime. I’m really liking the toner so I’m considering the Snowise EX Brightening Serum and the Snowise EX Brightening Cream as well. Additionally, I think the Snowise EX Brightening Mask and the Snowise Brightening Serum BB Broad Spectrum Sunscreen SPF 50+ are also worth looking into.

002

I apply the Snowise EX Brightening Water with a cotton pad after my skin has been cleansed. The gel-like texture eels thicker than water, but just as lightweight as water. It spreads onto the skin smoothly and there’s a slight cooling sensation. While my skin is slightly damp from the toner, I apply serum and night cream for the nighttime; or, if it’s during the day, I immediately follow the toner with my daytime moisturizer and sunblock. The toner is soothing and feels great on my skin. While this alone can’t color-correct and make spots disappear, it does a great job at overall brightening my skin and allowing that effect to help my skin look and feel healthy. Additionally, it preps my skin nicely for all the other steps that come after applying toner. I’m very happy with this toner and this line. Since it’s a Korean luxury skincare range it’s pricey, but I think the investment is worth it. :)

Made in Korea.
Retails for $63.00 USD.
Item contains 3.4 oz.

Leave a Reply

