Urban Decay Naked Skin Ultra Definition Powder Foundation

I’m picky about power foundations, and this comes as no surprise since I prefer natural, dewy finishes. Currently, my favorites are Chantecaille Compact Makeup Foundation, NARS All Day Luminous Powder Foundation, and the Shiseido Sheer and Perfect Powder Foundation. A close runner-up would be the Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Foundation Powder, and that’s just because it really depends on my mood since there are just some days I get annoyed with this powder foundation.

The Urban Decay Naked Skin Ultra Definition Powder Foundation recently got my attention and I just had to check it out. UD’s new power foundation promises to be an “ultra-creamy, buildable, wet or dry powder foundation that leaves a weightless feel and demi-matte, Naked Skin finish.” In my opinion, it’s important for powder foundations to be light and weightless on the skin to avoid powdery-ness and cakey-ness. In addition, depending on what your skin type is, it’s also important to find a power formula that adjusts to your skin so that it looks natural.

001

002

This power foundation is considered to be demi-matte and full-coverage. And, by that, it claims to promise to last all day with its “advanced, velvety formula [that] delivers weightless, buildable coverage—that can be applied wet or dry.” The sponge that comes with the product is nice and cushiony — making it ideal to use dry and wet if you wanted additional coverage. The final result is “a radiant, no makeup look that doesn’t leave the skin looking dusty or cakey.”

I’m using the shade Fair Cool, which is the lightest shade available in its range of colors. It leans cool-pink and is for fair skintones. The color match could be better, but as far as tone goes, it matches my undertone pretty good so I can live with it. The texture of the power foundation is super finely milled, so it gets dusty when I dab my powder brush in it to apply to my face. “Formulated with coated, micro-milled powders, this foundation diffuses light to blur the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles while Highlighter Performing Pigments Technology offers rich color and the perfect balance of coverage to even out your skintone.” I think for these reasons, the color settles well into my skin and seems to adjust. It looks natural and light on the skin, and is surprisingly creamy for being a powder foundation. While concealing pores and covering up lines and major pigmentation falls short with this product, it’s good at not settling into weird places on the skin and doesn’t catch heavily onto dry patches of skin.

003

For a powder foundation, this is pretty high coverage and COULD risk becoming cakey if you use a heavy hand. I dust it on with a fluffy powder brush, and it provides coverage and decent oil-control. If you wanted to up the level of coverage, you could always apply this over your regular foundation/BB/CC cream to achieve that; but, it won’t be entirely super high coverage/opaque on its own. I think it’s reasonably priced for what it is, but keep in mind you’re getting less than half an ounce of this stuff for nearly $40 with tax. There some pro’s regarding this product, but for me, the con’s outweigh the good. I don’t like how my skin looks dull with this product. Even with the lightest shade, I feel like my skin doesn’t look bright and healthy. The packaging is kind of plastic-y, but I like the wide mirror it includes. The floral pouch is just okay, but I understand why UD included it since the case is reflective and could get scratched and dirty easily. Overall, I’m already content with the previously mentioned powder foundations so this one was just MEH. I would recommend Laura Mercier and Chantecaille over this one for a bit more money.

Retails for $36.00 USD.
Item contains 0.31 oz.

One thought on “Urban Decay Naked Skin Ultra Definition Powder Foundation

  1. Thanks for this review! I’ve been wondering if this was worth checking out as I’m currently using the LM Smooth Finish and I’m not fully in love with it. I’ll look into your other recommendations. :)

Leave a Reply

