REVIEW: Charlotte Tilbury Light Wonder Youth-Boosting Perfect Skin Foundation

Before Charlotte Tilbury made its way to the U.S., I had only read about the product range online and saw it on YouTube via U.K. bloggers/vloggers. Now that the brand is available on Nordstrom online and in some store locations, I was really excited to see that the Houston Galleria (Nordstrom) location had the brand in-store with brand/makeup artists. My small haul consists of the Charlotte Tilbury Light Wonder Youth-Boosting Perfect Skin Foundation, Color Chameleon Color Morphing Eyeshadow Pencil, and the Lip Cheat Liner. More reviews will be coming for Charlotte Tilbury products, trust me! :)

unnamed

The Charlotte Tilbury Light Wonder Youth-Boosting Perfect Skin Foundation is an “air-light formula that illuminates, smoothes, hydrates, minimizes pores and reduces wrinkles for perfect skin.” As an oil-free foundation made for dry, normal and combination skin types, I’ve fallen in love with this foundation since its first use and it’s quickly made its way up the ladder on my favorite foundations rotation list! This foundation contains “youth-boosting actives [that] help give you a gorgeous baby-skin effect, [while] smoothing and evening out tone.” The foundation is light-weight and virtually weight-less on the skin. A little bit is all you need, and the effects are instant. My skin is smoothed out and evened immediately; and, its light texture is easily blendable and buildable. The formula “lasts for up to 18 hours, while stimulating epidermal renewal by kick-starting collagen production, delaying the onset of wrinkles and creating the perfect makeup base.”

unnamed 2

unnamed 3

I can’t say that the “youth-boosting actives” have done much for my skin, my the formula does plump up the skin so lines and wrinkles are less visible. Another great thing is that the color selection appeared to be really great, with good mixtures of both yellow-toned, pink-toned, and neutral-toned base. I chose the shade 01 Fair and it’s a perfect match for me. Pores are minimized and so is redness, so I really like that. I chose the shade Fair 01 and it’s absolute perfection!

A really great tip for a natural look is to add a thin layer on your skin first; and, then apply an additional thin layer for areas where you need more coverage. Either way, I’ve found that cakiness is pretty much not a problem; and, oil-control is surprisingly great without any dryness. I highly recommend this foundation and please look forward to more Charlotte Tilbury reviews!

Retails for $45.00 USD.
Item contains 1.4 oz.
Suitable for dry, normal and combination skin types.
Made in Italy.

8 thoughts on “REVIEW: Charlotte Tilbury Light Wonder Youth-Boosting Perfect Skin Foundation

  1. Thanks for the review! I really love the Chantecaille just skin tinted moisturiser in Bliss (it is very invisible and do not cling on dry spots) in combination with the Chantecaillie compact in Shell, you helped find the right shades. I also need a foundation that covers a bit more. I’m thinking about Chantecaille Future skin or Charlotte Tilburys light wonder. Which one do you think is the best foundation? I’ve tested the Future skin in store when I was in Paris (but it was sold out, so I never got to try it proberly) and I’m the shade Alasbaster, so I thinking I’m shade 01 fair, 02 fair or 03 fair in the Light wonder? My skin is fair and a bit more to the yellow side (soft light yellow not very warm, maybe neutral).
    Have you tried Charlotte Tilburys the retoucher? Are you shade 1 or 2?
    Sorry for the long rambling;-)
    Best from Diana

  2. When i think about it I’m also the lightest shades in a lot of brands like Chanel. And in tinted moisturisers in can be hard to find a shade light enough (Laura Mercier tinted moisturiser in Porcelain and Chantecaille Bliss are good). I’m just thinking that some people are very fair and I don’t consider myself that light, I guess they can’t get a shade fair enough for them! Is the 1 fair a bit yellow toned? The 2 fair seems just as light on swathes on the net, but just more neutral in tone.

      • If I remember correctly, shade 2 was more neutral than shade 1. I’ve got a bit of pink/cool undertones, so shade 1 is more fitting for fair skin with that kind of undertone. If you don’t consider yourself that light, maybe 2 would be better since 1 is not really that yellow.

Leave a Reply

