Dior 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 796 “Cuir Cannage”

Expensive eyeshadows sometimes tug at my heartstrings, and more often than not, I’ll cave. Normally, I’m content with brands like Laura Mercier, MAC, and Benefit; and, it’s been quite awhile since I’ve been tempted by any of Dior’s 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette. The palette in 796 “Cuir Cannage” has been my newest addition to my eyeshadow collection. More importantly, it’s quickly risen ranks and now is seriously a favorite of mine.

At $60.00 for the entire palette, I try to justify a purchase like this — technically, with five colors included of equal weight and size, it’s $12.00 per color. Considering the supreme quality of the shadows in color and texture, it’s a bargain and investment in the long run. What I really appreciate is that it seems that the Dior colors are designed to work together, so whether I decide to pile all 5 colors on or use 2-3, they work well together. The quality of the shadows are buttery smooth and apply nicely onto the eyes. It’s pigmented without being obnoxious and difficult to work with; they blend easily; and, can be worn with a light-hand or heavy-handed for a dramatic effect.

001

002

As for longevity, it stays on my lids throughout the day without any issues. I’ve worn this palette alone and with the NARS Pro Prime Smudgeproof Eyeshadow Base, and so far, both ways have yielded good results.

I recommend Dior products in general, but I really feel that the investment in Dior’s palettes is worth it. In particular, 796 “Cuir Cannage” is a good choice for me because of the earthy tones that can be burgundy and bronze, with shimmer and glimmer that isn’t too much. The middle shade is a great starter color and all-over color; and, is great for using as a “transition” shade between the bronze and the burgundy. The light shimmery washes of the light colors are perfect for inner corner highlighting, brow-bone highlighting, and even for the lower lashline for extra oomph.

Retails for $60.00 USD.

2 thoughts on “Dior 5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in 796 “Cuir Cannage”

Leave a Reply

