Dior Rouge Baume in 488 “Primerose”

The new Dior Rouge Baumes have been tugging at my heartstrings since its release. After doing some research online, I made my decision to take a look at 488 “Primerose” in person. I’ve got a weakness for Dior lip products to begin with, so it wasn’t a surprise that I fell in love with the Rouge Baumes. As with many lipsticky-balm products out there, these aren’t that different from Chanel’s Rouge Coco Shine Hydrating Sheer Lipshines and Yves Saint Laurent’s Volupte Sheer Candy – Glossy Balm Crystal Colors.

010

012

The Dior Rouge Baumes are described to be a “nourishing lip balm with couture color that leaves lips with a healthy glow and shine.” It claims to “revive lips” because it is a “plumping lipstick…formulated with naturally-derived ingredients.” As “a lip balm and a lipstick in one,” the Rouge Baume “maintains lips texture and ensures that lips are smooth, plump, and that color stays put.”

Pretty much as described, this product is just that — a lipstick and lip balm that functions as one. You can either look at it as a fancy tinted lip balm or a fancy hydrating sheer lipstick. Either way, the product is genuinely lush and nice on the lips. It’s ultra hydrating, leaves a sheer pigment of color on the lips, and looks nice on the lips without looking like you’ve gone overboard. However, in general, it seems that all the tones in the range are on the sheer side.

011

014

I chose the color 488, which is “Primerose.” It’s a rosey-pink color that’s a bit cool-toned. On the lips, I admit it doesn’t look like much. It looks pretty and light, but not anything different from what I normally would wear. Originally, I had my eye on 288 “Bleuette,” but it was so sheer it barely showed up on my hand. One shade up seemed to be 488 “Primerose,” which was brighter than I had expected, but looked like something on my lips. As stated, I feel that pretty much all of the colors are sheer. It’s not designed to be a pigmented lipstick, so I don’t want to count of points for that; and, this isn’t an item that you need to run out and buy. Nonetheless, my favorite thing about the product is how it glistens just right and looks so pretty. However, because the formula, color, and concept is not that unique, it’s a product that can be passed up unless you’re a fan of Dior.

I usually layer a form of lip balm on lips before I apply lip color anyways, so this concept isn’t all that unique to me. As for the hype, I think the product is hyped up because it’s Dior — but many brands and ranges have released a product like this, so there are other alternatives as well. Benefit’s Hydrating Tinted Lip Balm and the Fresh Sugar Lip Treatments are suggestions too.

Retails for $35.00 USD.
Made in France.

Leave a Reply

