Favorite Sunscreens At the Moment

I’m a suncreen wearer all year-round. I never skip a day even if I’m not wearing that much makeup; and, even if I know I’m not going to be outdoors for a long period of time. While in the summer months I pay extra attention to sunscreen application, I try to stick with light, watery textured sunscreens since I like to layer my products on top. Nothing is worse than sticky or greasy sunscreen residue when you’re trying to apply makeup!

Right now, these are my favorite sunscreens at the moment. Unfortunately, they are difficult to in the US so I order mine on eBay since they are either a Japanese brand or a Korean brand. I prefer Asian sunscreen formulation for the texture and high SPF coverage. There are plenty of sunscreens readily available at drugstores and department stores in the US. Formulas I’ve liked in the past are: Clarins UV Plus HP Broad Spectrum SPF 40 Sunscreen Multi-Protection, Shiseido Urban Environment Oil-Free UV Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 42 For Face, and the Chanel UV Essentiel Complete Sunscreen UV Protection Anti-Pollution.

008

Pictured here from left to right:
Tony Moly My Sunny Powdery Finish Sun Milk SPF 47 (Made in Korea)
Biore UV Aqua Rich Whitening Watery Sunscreen SPF 50+ (Made in Japan)
Sunkiller Perfect Water Essence SPF 50+ (Made in Japan)
Nature Republic Power Lasting California Aloe Sunblock SPF 50 (Made in Korea)

009

010

Tony Moly My Sunny Powdery Finish Sun Milk SPF 47
This sunscreen is a general go-to/favorite that is easy to apply and travel with. It’s thin and light but provides excellent sun protection. The slight pink tint to it helps with neutralizing skin redness, so it doubles as a primer. It dries down matte, absorbs quickly, yet keeps my skin hydrated throughout the day. It’s perfect for under makeup or on no makeup days, but it doesn’t hold up well in high sweat and water atmospheres, so skip this as an option if you’re going to the beach/pool.

Biore UV Aqua Rich Whitening Watery Sunscreen SPF 50+
While I can’t say that this sunscreen has any “whitening properties,” the light and watery texture is cooling and easy to apply. It dries matte almost instantly, but even though that’s a good thing, it’s often hard to apply less emollient foundations because of this. The formula produces the least amount of oil throughout the day, so it’s ideal for hot months for sure. A little bit goes a long ways and I always have one of these on hand since it takes no time to apply and absorb.

Sunkiller Perfect Water Essence SPF 50+
This essence-type sunscreen is really, really water light. It’s super easy to apply and absorbs fairly quickly; however, it does leave a bit of a film on the skin. While it’s slightly tacky on the surface, it’s great for applying foundation directly after because of this. I tend to reach for this only when I’m in the mood for this kind of texture. You have to be careful with how well you blend this. If you’re not paying attention, there will be white-ish streaks left on your face.

Nature Republic Power Lasting California Aloe Sunblock SPF 50
This sunscreen is the most nourishing on my skin. It’s hydrating and gives my skin a subtle glow even before makeup. However, it also tends to make me oily pretty quick, so I have to blot more frequently when I’m wearing this product. I think this formula will be best for the colder months since it’s a creamier type. When I wear mineral or powder foundations, I like to apply this as my choice of sunscreen because the finish of the makeup looks and feels so fresh and moisturizing.

What are you favorite sunscreens?

Leave a Reply

