REVIEW: Diorskin Star Studio Foundation SPF 30 in 010

You can’t deny the hype surrounding the new Diorskin Star Studio Foundation and I tried to not fall into the craziness. “Inspired by the professional illuminating techniques and expertise of its makeup artists, Dior invented Diorskin Star, its first brightening foundation.” Rumor has it that this foundation is a dewier, more natural version, of the Make Up For Ever HD Invisible Cover Foundation reviewed here in this post. I’ll try it out and writ a comparison post in the near future.

002

003

The Diorskin Star foundation is described to be a “weightless, fluid formula [that] is capable of recreating the spectacular and perfecting light of Dior’s studios. It uses a new generation of hollow silica beads to capture and diffuse light in a correcting halo with no shine.” It uses the “color-filter pigments” to “neutralize color imbalances to recreate the perfect light. Anti light-trapping skincare ingredients help reduce the appearance of dark areas, pigment spots and redness.” The concept of this foundation sounds almost too perfect to be true, which is why my expectations were extremely high for this foundation. I’ve been sort of on the fence with Dior foundations in general, and felt that for the money, other foundations performed better.

However, I’m very surprised with the performance of this foundation because it really wakes up your complexion and instantly gives your skin a more luminous and even finish/look. The formula is light and runny, much like the MUFE Invisible Cover Foundation. The texture is lightweight and appears to blend seamlessly very quickly. The finish is a barely-there effect — like skin, only better. Much like the effects of a CC cream, this foundation color corrects extremely well. While blending, you can see pigmentation and redness instantly correct (all the while feeling light on the skin).

004

005

I chose the shade 010 Ivory, just like I have in the past with other Dior foundations. The pinky-peach undertones are perfect for my fair skin. Coverage is medium but certainly buildable; and, for a sheerer effect, I like to use the Beauty Blender sponge. It lasts very well on the skin — especially in humidity and through sweat; oil-control is pretty good for a long-wear foundation. For me, an added bonus is the SPF 30 in this foundation. While I wouldn’t solely rely on this foundation for sun protection, an SPF of 30 is quite high for foundations in the United States. I like that my complexion looks so clear with this foundation. So far, I’m very pleased with the foundation and will continue to wear it through this month. There is a sense of dewiness/glowiness without looking or feeling oily or cakey, so that’s a major plus for me. I recommend this foundation and I think it’s definitely worth checking out!

Retails for $50.00 USD.
Made in France.

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Diorskin Star Studio Foundation SPF 30 in 010

  1. Trying out all of Dior makeups as am in late 60’s and want a medium coverage and bright not matte finish and my skin is on dry side also a little sensitive. I do not like any of these new makeups all seem to have them with extra serum as use my own serum and all of them feel a little burning the first 20 minutes with the extra serum in a few different makeups. So the Star with no extra serum seems to be good so far as used to wear Futurist in Esty Lauder and is good but heard they are stopping it. The other ones for my age is too drying . So decided as like the Mascara from Dior just to try them for makeup and so far Star seems to agree with me and look like right coverage though not as moisterizing as Futurist but the more moisterizing one in Dior does not cover enough for me. So will keep tryint sample of Star from Dior to make sure no redness or other reactions.
    Love their Mascara. That is how I decided to try their makeup and a few others but so far Star is fine for me and looks just right coverage.

Leave a Reply

