Current Summertime Essentials

It’s hard to write about seasonal products for me, because most of my products are on “rotation” all year. Because I incorporate sun protection into my routine year-round, there is little difference in what I like to “daily essentials” and “summertime essentials.” This post will show what I’m currently using as the start of summer is officially here. Most likely, the products will continue to change throughout the next few months. However, what’s really important to me during warmer weather are using products that provide high sun protection with a light texture, long-lasting products that can withstand humidity and sweat, and sticking with a dewy/glowy complexion that doesn’t appear to be too dry, matte, or flat.

007

009

Shiseido Sun UV Protective Liquid Foundation SPF 42 in “Light Ivory”
Base makeup is important, but it doesn’t mean much if it’s slipping and sliding around on your face. The Shiseido Sun UV Protective Liquid Foundation provides flawless, smooth coverage with high sun protection; and, settles nicely onto the skin with long-lasting effects. A little bit goes a long ways and controls oil very well. This foundation is perfect for the summer months, and for days when you’re expected to be running around and busy all day. This foundation is low-maintenance because you can just slap it on and get going. It blends easily and I don’t need concealer when I use this — making it a quick option for busy days/mornings.

Biore UV Aqua Watery Essence Sunscreen
There’s no denying the importance of sun protection — especially in the summer. I like sunscreen that’s watery-light, with minimal stickiness to the touch. I stick with Japanese sunscreens for this reason since they’re easier to layer underneath makeup and foundations. In the summer, I like to stick with the Biore UV Aqua Watery Essence Sunscreen and it’s never failed me. It’s cooling on the skin, absorbs immediately, and doesn’t interfere with makeup application. It’s important cover your face with an appropriate amount of sunscreen for adequate protection, and this product doesn’t feel gross on the skin. Also, don’t forget about your neck as well.

008

Tarte Amazonian Clay Airbrush Foundation
Another great base option is the Tarte Amazonian Clay Airbrush Foundation, because it’s light on the skin while providing excellent coverage. Out of all the mineral makeup I’ve tried and tested, the Tarte Amazonian Clay Airbrush Foundation is by far my favorite. After sunscreen, I dust this on my skin and it feels like nothing (and still looks like skin). In some cases, if my skin really needs additional coverage, a light dusting of this over foundation is an excellent option as well. But for the summertime, I like to keep things light and minimal so this is a great choice too.

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Colour SPF 15
Normally I skip the setting powder in general, however, in the summer, it’s important to set your makeup so it doesn’t go anywhere. For that, I like to use the Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Colour for some color and glowiness. Since I don’t regularly apply bronzer, a shade like N10 gives me a healthy dose of color without looking muddy or dirty. It also feels light on the skin while giving me some healthy glow for the summertime.

Diorskin Shimmer Star in “Rose Diamond”
A light highlighter is a great option for creating dewy skin. Again, since light textures are key, a light dusting of shimmer is perfect. I apply the Diorskin Shimmer Star in “Rose Diamond” with a large fluffy brush along my cheekbones and down the bridge of my nose. It creates the most beautiful halo around your face and looks extremely natural. Cream highlighters can work well too for the summer, but I find that with the humidity, I can risk looking oily so it really depends on my mood and the occasion. Another great option are the Diorskin Nude Shimmer Instant Illuminating Powder & Kabuki Brush in “Rose 001″ and The Balm Cindy-Lou Manizer.

What are some of your summertime essentials?

Leave a Reply

