REVIEW: Neutrogena Healthy Skin Liquid Makeup in “Classic Ivory 10”

The Neutrogena Healthy Skin Liquid Makeup foundation was rumored awhile ago to be the drugstore dupe for the NARS Sheer Glow Foundation. For me, this wasn’t the case — perhaps, because I have quite high expectations for foundations in general. As a foundation that claims to provide “naturally beautiful coverage,” this product says that it “takes over where your skin care leaves off” as a foundation that provides both skincare benefits and coverage. The “silky-light coverage” of this product “glides on for a perfectly natural look, while the exclusive blend plus SPF 20 work together to visibly improve skin’s luminosity, tone, and texture.”

To begin, the finish, texture, and the feel of the Neutrogena Healthy Skin Liquid Makeup on the skin is superb. It settles nicely on the skin, looks natural and glowy (without looking/feeling oily), and looks great in photographs and in natural lighting. Initially, I was impressed with this foundation as it provided sheer to medium coverage and it concealed pores and imperfections nicely. I was also impressed by how light it felt on the skin. Regarding these points, this foundation does mimic the NARS Sheer Glow nicely.

picstitch (5)

The shade “Classic Ivory 10” is a good match, but not a perfect match. It warms up on the skin nicely and blends well, so that’s fine with me. The formula is smooth and blendable, which makes it very easy to work with. However, the difference is clear after about 3-4 hours of wear. The Neutrogena Healthy Skin Liquid Makeup began to slip and slide, with noticeable demarcation — subtle indications that the foundation was indeed moving around and rubbing off in areas — like my nose and chin. The longer it stayed on my face, the worse it began to look/feel. With this foundation, I had to blot multiple times, and each time, the foundation rubbed off little by little. To be fair, I powdered over this foundation the next day to give it another shot and it didn’t make a difference. For me, while the foundation started off great, there was pretty much nothing left of it by the end of my day.

Because my obsession for base makeup has allowed me to gain high expectations of foundations in general, I can’t say that this foundation performed well. I think if you wanted to wear a light foundation for 2-4 hours this may work, but realistically, this wouldn’t hold up well through a work day, school day, or at any event. In all honesty, it’s a bummer since it’s great on every level, but the fact that it starts to look and feel horrible throughout the day is a major deal breaker for me. I would recommend the NARS Sheer Glow Foundation over this product, and I do not consider it as a worthy “dupe.” I’d say that a more comparable drugstore and budget-friendly option is the Revlon ColorStay Foundation.

Made in USA.
Retails for $13.99 USD.

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Neutrogena Healthy Skin Liquid Makeup in “Classic Ivory 10”

  1. I hate it when foundations don’t last! I think I too have high expectations as other drugstore foundations like L’Oreals true match and revlons colourstay foundations are amazing at doing just that :) xo

Leave a Reply

