Shiseido Sun UV Protective Liquid Foundation SPF 42 in “Light Ivory”

Roughly a year ago, I wrote a post about the Shiseido Sun Protection Compact Foundation SPF 34 PA+++, which was a major part of my summer foundation routine. Since then, Shiseido has released its refined version of the sun protection line with new names and slightly different color matches/choices. Previously, I avoided the liquid version of the sun protection foundation because the colors available were awful and none of the shades matched me. With the new release, I decided to try again with the liquid version to really lock in my summer foundation routine.

006

The Shiseido Sun UV Protective Liquid Foundation SPF 42 is a better version of its old shade “P10.” It’s less orangey-pink and a proper light ivory shade that suits my skintone much better. The shade “Light Ivory” is the lightest shade in the range, and leans a peachy-beige tone which works well with my skin. The “Shiseido Sun UV Protective Liquid Foundation with SPF 42 is a full-coverage foundation that leaves you with flawless, dewy, luminous skin while protecting you from the sun for total health and vitality. The transfer-, water- and oil-resistant formula also fights against the signs of aging with exclusive SuperVeil UV360™ and ProfenseCEL™ technology.”

This foundation is super lightweight like the Shiseido sunscreens, so you need to shake the bottle well before application. The formula is super runny, so I like to apply little dots on my face with my finger to avoid dripping. It absorbs instantly and dries down semi-matte without looking to flat or dry on the skin. While the product comes with its own sponge + case, I prefer to apply this foundation with a buffing brush or my fingers. For additional coverage/spot concealing, the sponge may be an added benefit. As with all Shiseido products that contain a sponge, it’s a great quality, thick sponge that won’t absorb excess product or tear.

007

008

The coverage is medium to full and is buildable. Like with all foundations, I like to apply a sheer layer — but I’ve noticed that even when you build the coverage, this foundation doesn’t get cakey and gross. Lines, discolorations, pores, and even spots are concealed well; and, best of all, this foundation’s OIL CONTROL ability is truly amazing. For that reason, I’d recommend it for anyone who specifically needs a “summer foundation,” or for those who are just oily in general and need some oil control. While the added sun protection is nice, I apply this product so thinly I still layer a proper SPF underneath. However, I love this for its impeccable oil control. Even when oil breaks through hours later, my skin is just dewy and not greasy looking. Personally, I’d consider this foundation heavy-duty since it’s fuller coverage with no transfer. It’s best to remove this foundation well with a cleansing oil/balm before doing a final cleanse of the skin before bed time.

Made in USA.
Retails for $36.00 USD.

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 1.9%, Titanium Dioxide 8.3%

One thought on “Shiseido Sun UV Protective Liquid Foundation SPF 42 in “Light Ivory”

  1. Pingback: Mary Kay Highlight & Contour -

Leave a Reply

