Face of the Day feat. NARS Cream Eyeshadow in “Mykonos” + Innisfree Mineral Melting BB Cushion Compact

Another face of the day post — but this time, with a little twist. Today’s post will feature a cream shadow and a cushion compact — both products are new to me (as are the concepts of these products). Now that the weather is getting warmer, I’m really into trying to use brighter and season-friendly shades. Still, a bright and dewy complexion is a requirement for my daily needs/look and I’m happy to have found a cream eyeshadow that I’m really enjoying as well.

006

007

Sunkiller Perfect Water Essence Sunblock (from eBay)
I’m really enjoying essence sunscreens. While they’re not as watery as traditional Japanese sunscreens, the essence sunscreens dry super fast on the skin and also dry matte. In my experience, oil-control seems to be much better with these kinds of sun products.

MAC Cremesheen + Pearl Lipstick in “Sunny Seoul”
Yes, in part, I was drawn to this lipstick shade because of its name “Sunny Seoul” and reference to my native country/birthplace. LOL. But the color itself is really pretty, too. The bright pop of pink is flattering yet not scary bright. It’s a great spring shade and pairs well with neutral eye makeup as well. I like that this color is wearable, and this shade is as daring as I will get!

Too Faced Sweethearts Perfect Flush Blush in “Something About Berry”
Not a totally necessary product, but still a great-performing and long-lasting blush nonetheless. Despite its bulky packaging, the bright pink shade is a great mix of mauve pink, golden peach, and magenta all rolled into one. This blush is shimmery but I don’t mind. It’s got cute packaging too so this product is a win-win for me!

NARS Cream Eyeshadow in “Mykonos”
Normally, I’m not a fan of cream eyeshadows. But I was recently drawn to the shade “Mykonos,” and found a blog post by Sandra when I was doing some research. It’s a great color to use on its own and to use as a base. I had to hunt this shade down so I’m not sure if it will soon be discontinued. It’s definitely a must-have and the cream eyeshadows by NARS are definitely worth looking further into. Their cream shadows include “shades that are balanced in a lightweight texture, [and are] transparent in application.”

Hourglass Arch Brow Sculpting Pencil in “Soft Brunette”
This brow pencil combines the benefits and technique of a powder, pencil, and wax and is my newest eyebrow obsession and favorite product as of right now. The shade “Soft Brunette” is perfect for me — a warm, medium dark brown that isn’t too stark and isn’t orange or beige in undertone. It applies smoothly and doesn’t skip when applying — even when I’m filling in gaps. The waxiness of the product is just right for the areas where I’ve got more brow hairs. It really is a “revolutionary pencil [that] combines all of the benefits and technique of various brow formulas to create the look of naturally fuller, multidimensional, defined brows in one easy step.”

Garnier Skin Renew Anti Dark Circle Eye Roller
This is a great eye product for when you’re on the go. It’s also multi-functioning, which is great since you can get some coverage and eye care benefits all in one. Swipe the product under the eyes from the inner corner to the outer corner and blend. The metal rolling ball is soothing and cooling so the product is nice to apply.

012

Innisfree Mineral Melting BB Cushion Compact in “1 Pink Beige”
Cushion compacts are all the rage currently, and is a major trend in Asia now. Right now I’m using the Innisfree Mineral Melting BB Cushion Compact, which you can order via eBay and have it shipped directly from South Korea. I will most likely do a post committed to cushion compacts in the very near future, but it’s really the concept that’s different, not the formula. I’m basically using a BB cream but it comes in a compact form rather than a tube; and, really, the application is much better with the included sponge/applicator. That’s really the only difference!

What have you been incorporating in your makeup routine lately?

Leave a Reply

