REVIEW: Anastasia Lash Genius Waterproof Topcoat

While I’m very faithful to my Japanese mascaras, I was recently gifted the Anastasia Lash Genius Waterproof Topcoat and I wanted to give it a true test run. Based on the rave reviews and some online research, my expectations were high because the product was described to be a “clear topcoat that instantly waterproofs, refreshes, and protects any mascara all day, without drying or clumping.”

001

002

Normally, I start off my eyelash routine with the Shiseido Nourishing Mascara Base. As mentioned here in my All About Mascara Bases post, it’s essential for my lashes to have a base to ensure the curl, volume, and definitely length. However, the Anastasia Lash Genius Waterproof Topcoat is a topcoat — meaning, just like a nail polish topcoat, you’d apply this product after your primer and mascara. Essentially, this would be the third and final step.

003

As an “advanced, lightweight formula [that] glides on smooth,” the formula “dries quickly and gives your lashes a touchable, soft lacquer finish that lasts all day.” It’s best to not wait to apply this topcoat because once the mascara dries, the topcoat doesn’t really coat the lashes. In my experience, it’s best to apply it directly after your final coat of mascara while the formula is still wet on the lashes. The best way to test this was with a drugstore mascara and I was specifically looking to see if the degree of the curl would hold. While my lashes were truly waterproof and smudge-proof, the curl was only at about 50%. By this I mean that the existing curl had fallen, but not all the way; so, to some extent, the topcoat helped.

According to reviews, this is great for oily eyelids. For me, I still prefer my hardcore Japanese mascaras. The Anastasia Lash Genius Waterproof Topcoat was just okay for me and I will not re-purchase since I already have a routine I prefer. Plus, adding another step to my existing routine seems a little ridiculous since I can save myself an extra step while still achieving the curl I want for my lashes.

Retails for $21.00 USD.

Leave a Reply

