Covergirl Bombshell ShineShadow in 300 “Ice Queen”

With so many new product releases at the drugstore in the new year, I was excited to try out the new Covergirl Bombshell ShineShadow in 300 “Ice Queen.” This new range of cream shadows are called ShineShadows because they’re cream shadows that are super blend-able with reflective shine and glitter. Covergirl suggests that the Bombshell ShineShadows will “transform your eyes into bombshell sexy.” The reflective pigments are finely crushed and not as gritty in texture as I would have imagined.

picstitch (3)

The shade 300 “Ice Queen” is one of six available shades in the range. I specifically chose this shade because I felt that it would work well as a base for my other neutral shades I have in my collection. While initially the shade seems like a silvery icey color, once it’s blended, it turns into nothing but swiped on glitter. For some occasions, such as a New Year’s Eve party or a pageant, this would add glam to the eyes. It’s just not practical for me during a regular work week. Perhaps if the base color was more white rather than chunks of glitter, I could’ve used it in the inner corners of my eyes for a brightening effect. Oh well.

When layered with eye shadows, I noticed some major creasing. Usually, creasing isn’t an issue for me since my Asian eyes don’t tend to “fold” in a way where shadows would crease. However, I noticed that this product would collect in tiny lines along my eyelid — making it more obvious that the texture and pigment was unevenly applied. The idea of this range sounded promising, but I don’t think I’ll be purchasing anymore shades. I may keep this around for future fun looks (like Halloween or something); but, in general, this is not my cup of tea. :(

Made in USA.
Retails for $7.99 USD.

Leave a Reply

