NARS Guy Bourdin Holiday Collection Limited Edition Cinematic Eye Shadow in “Mississippi Mermaid”

Previously, I wrote a post about the NARS Guy Bourdin Holiday Collection Limited Edition Blush in “Day Dream”. I passed up the eyeshadows, but one did catch my attention before I left Sephora. Since then, I went back to get the shade that was tugging at my heartstrings called “Mississippi Mermaid”. As a limited edition product, availability may be limited. Some stores may still carry it, so if you’re interested in this particular line/shade, it’s best to get it now! :)

001

002

“Mississippi Mermaid” is a champagne-peachy shade that looks like nothing special in the pan. In fact, even swatched, this shade may not be for everyone. This shadow can be applied dry or with a dampened brush for a more intense finish, but I choose to wear it dry like all my other eyeshadows. As with all of NARS’ products, pigmentation is impeccable so controlling the amount of product you apply is key to this shade. When applied with a heavy hand, the color looks chalky. But, once thinned out/blended, the shade is a warm, shimmery champagne-peachy shade that can be flattering.

I like to focus this shade in the inner corners of my eyes when I’m wearing a slightly darker look. Other days, when I’m in the mood, I’ll apply this shade all over the lids and follow with some eyeliner. It’s a great, but subtle way to create dimension on the lids without wearing a glittery/metallic shade.

003

This shade is pretty and I liked “Mississippi Mermaid” the best out of all the other shadows in the Limited Edition Cinematic Eye Shadow range. The reflective tone is what makes the color unique and worth having in my collection. However, since it seems so basic, I can understand why this shade might’ve been passed up and overlooked! I recommend this color if it’s still available to you — it’s so great for the inner corners since it’s not stark white or too gold.

Product contains 0.07 oz.
Retails for $24.00 USD.
Made in USA.

Leave a Reply

