Ditptyque Scented Candle in “Baies” and the Soothing Lip Balm

Ok, I’m really not one to splurge on candles — or, even get really into purchasing candles. For the most part, I have a few candles laying around from Target and I’ve had a few from Bath and Body Works, so it’s a big deal when I jump on the Diptyque band wagon. Because this world-renowned brand has a cult following, I did some thorough research before making any purchasing decisions. Luckily, I had a great sales associate who was really knowledgable and generous with samples. Needless to say, I’ll be making a fragrance purchase real soon. Last week, I went with the Ditptyque Scented Candle in “Baies” and the Ditptyque Soothing Lip Balm.

001

002

The 6.5 oz. size burns for 60 hours and retails for $60.00 USD. It’s expensive and the most expensive candle I own. I admit, at first, I was a little ashamed when I realized how much I had spent on a candle of all things. But, to my pleasant surprise, there’s a reason for this cult following. I can see why there’s so many people who are not disappointed with Diptyque candles and fragrances; and, in fact, it’s the loyal following that convinced me this was going to be a worthwhile purchase. Is this a necessity? No. But, there’s a difference with the quality of Diptyque and the candles I’m used to buying at Target. The scents are oily and genuine — meaning, the essentials oils do all the work without the waxiness and the plastic-y smell from cheap candles. The scent “Baies” smells of a “bouquet of roses and blackcurrant leaves” and is “a companion to the diptyque eau de toilette L’Ombre Dans L’Eau.” According to the sales associate, “Baies” is popular and is always a best seller every year. It was a good choice for me.

003

004

I’m a sucker for lip balms so I naturally wanted to give the Ditptyque Soothing Lip Balm a try. At $35.00 USD for less than half an ounce, this too, is an expensive item. However, it’s cheaper than the La Mer Lip Balm and the Chanel Hydramax Active Lip Care. While I like the Diptyque Soothing Lip Balm the best, the Dior Crème de Rose Smoothing Plumping Lip Balm is the cheapest out all the ones I mentioned at $27.00 USD. The soothing lip balm is described to be a “delicately perfumed balm that melts into the lips and gives them back smoothness, softness and protection.” The scent is subtle and is intensely hydrating, and the “poppy petals softens and protects the lips while protecting them from the signs of aging.” The reason why I like it the best is because it has a nice slip to that makes my lips look shiny and line-less. It stays on forever and lingers even after the waxy slip has been eaten away. Also, mango butter and cotton oil helps lips feel luxurious and soft as well.

I recommend both, but neither are life changing necessities. I can see myself collecting Diptyque candles in the future — which sounds so cliche since everyone does it. But I can see why, which is what makes it so fun. I look forward to experimenting with fragrances and other candle scents soon; and, I hope to have more by the end of Christmas!

005

006

I was given generous amounts of samples, so it’s best to go to the Diptyque counter when a proper representative is available. I’ll be doing more research before committing to a fragrance, and I’m so excited I got some samples to try.

Candle and lip balm made in France.

Leave a Reply

