REVIEW: Marc Jacobs Beauty Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation in “10 Ivory Light”

Normally, designer makeup brands get a lot of hype for pretty packaging and the status of being a “designer label.” For brands like Dior, Chanel, and Armani — they’ve been around awhile to have already established a rapport within the beauty community outside of the designer-label community. And, as of late, I’d say that Tom Ford has done well early on as well. When Marc Jacobs came to Sephora, I wasn’t that moved by it and didn’t really pay attention to the released products. However, I was compelled by Lorraine Stanick at TheCurrentCustom, when she talked about Marc Jacobs products in her recent haul video.

The Marc Jacobs Beauty Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation in “10 Ivory Light” is my shade of choice, but I think it’s a tad bit light for my liking. It would’ve been nice if there was a shade that was between 10 Ivory Light and 14 Ivory Medium. Strangely, the color blends out well without making me look ghostly white — so I can’t really complain there. The Beauty Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation is described to be a “breakthrough gel foundation that’s anti-aging, long-wearing, [while awakening] your skin to its ideal radiance and clarity.”

MJ_all

The foundation claims to be a “versatile formula [that] builds easily from natural to full coverage, providing supreme hydration for a radiant finish,” while promising to “erase the past, perfect the present, and protect the future.” This foundation contains “lifestyle ingredients and Buoyancy Gel™ technology,” which means that the Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation “creates a weightless, natural veil that never settles into fine lines. An infusion of Soft Focus Powder reflects light to minimize imperfections, while revitalizing multi-vitamins provide supreme hydration for even application and luxurious wear.”

As usual, these are some high claims and promises; and, since I’m quite picky with my foundations and I admit to having high expectations, I was skeptical even before I applied the product to my face. The texture of the foundation is a gel-like consistency that’s light and creamy at the same time. It blends easily into the skin and buffs out well using a synthetic buffing brush. The formula doesn’t settle into lines, evens out the skin tone, and looks and feels natural upon application. However, despite its gel consistency, this foundation made me oil/shiny early on in the day, even after powdering the t-zone. Also, while the skintone was evened out moderately well, pores were not covered like what I get from the Clé de Peau Beauté Refining Fluid Foundation, the Yves Saint Laurent Youth Liberator Serum Foundation, the Chantecaille Future Skin Oil-Free Gel Foundation, or the NARS Sheer Glow Foundation. Coverage is buildable — from light to medium, but I wouldn’t say that this foundation provides full coverage.

MJ-ivory

While the concept is unique and the packaging is sleek, I have foundations in my arsenal that are more dependable with a solid reputation. I like a little extra work from my foundations — I expect my skin to look radiant and luminous, yet natural and glowy. The Beauty Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation was just standard for me and nothing special. If my skin were feeling dry, the foundation didn’t help; if my skin felt extra oily, the foundation made it worse; and, if I were more spotty on a particular day, the foundation didn’t do much to help perfect my skin. Also, the color-range is odd with gaps of shades missing. If you’re quite fair or your skintone is more deep, I don’t think this range would have a suitable color. However, if you’re mostly light-medium and medium toned, I think there will a shade that works for you.

Made in France.
Contains 1 fl. oz.
Retails for $48.00 USD.

Leave a Reply

