REVIEW: Urban Decay Cannonball Ultra Waterproof Mascara

It’s very rare that I try non-Japanese mascaras — and, it’s simply because I need a hardcore mascara that will hold my curl way, way up. Pretty much all American mascaras won’t hold my lash-curl the way I like, and nothing annoys me more than droopy (yet heavily-mascara’ed) lashes that smudge. I decided to try the Urban Decay Cannonball Ultra Waterproof Mascara after seeing it featured in From Head To Toe’s YouTube video called “Mascara 101: Tips for Short, Straight Lashes.” I’m sorry, but American waterproof formulas are not as crazy as the Japanese ones, so I was wary when I purchased the Cannonball mascara.

001

Now, even though this is an Urban Decay mascara and it can be assumed that this is standard American waterproof mascara, the Urban Decay Cannonball Ultra Waterproof Mascara is made in Japan. So, maybe I’m cheating a bit. LOL. It is described as a “lightweight, waterproof, gel-formula mascara,” and claims to have been “rigorously field-tested in the ocean as well as the sweat-drenched gym.” Like standard Japanese mascaras, Sephora’s website states that this “exclusive Japanese formula refuses to budge,” and that the “special microcrystalline wax works with the dense, fuzzy brush to increase seductive length and volume, without ever flaking off and compromising your lashes’ natural feathery texture.”

On that note, I’d agree that the mascara’s formula is lighteweight and decently waterproof (although not as hardcore as the Kiss Me Heroine Volume and Curl Mascara, the Shiseido Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Edge Meister Mascara, or the Fasio Hyper-Stay Mascara Magne-Plus Curl Long). The formula of Cannonball is gel-like and is a little gloopy upon the first application. But a little gloop never hurt because it helps sparse lashes look beefed up with some volume. This mascara is indeed long-lasting, smudge-proof, and does hold my lash curl to my liking. So, in this sense, the Cannonball Ultra Waterproof Mascara does pass my initial test to a certain extent.

002

However, the formula does dry out my lashes — and when you don’t have a lot of lashes to begin with, every piece of it counts. I’d suggest wearing a base underneath this mascara, just to help your lashes out a bit. Also, even though my lashes were held up by this mascara, it didn’t stay up as curled as I would like. I supplemented the mascara with the Shiseido Majolica Majorca Lash Bone Black Fiber mascara base to help the performance and longevity.

So, yes, while the Cannonball Ultra Waterproof Mascara does perform better than most Western waterproof mascaras, Japanese mascaras are still number one in my book. And, while the Cannonball Ultra Waterproof Mascara did pass initial tests, it still needed the help of a hardcore base like the Shiseido’s Majolica Majorca Lash Bone Black Fiber mascara base. In the end, I feel that it’s great for everyone, simply because this mascara worked on my sparse, thin, Asian lashes, LOL.

Made in Japan.
Filled in China.
Retails for $20.00 USD.
Color: Black only

Leave a Reply

