REVIEW: Chanel Rouge Coco Shine in “86 Instinct”

Awhile ago, it was requested that I put together an overview of the Chanel Rouge Coco Shine lip products comparing and contrasting colors and textures. Since then, no new colors from the Rouge Coco range intrigued me and I moved onto other products. Recently, with all the new fall products being released from all brands across the board, I became re-intrigued with the Rouge Coco Shines.

I came back to them when I saw the shade “86 Instinct,” and I’m so glad that I’ve re-kindled my love for these lip products. It’s nice to return to such faithful products, especially when you’re reminded of why you loved them so much in the first place.

011

The Rouge Coco Shines are considered an “evolution” in lipsticks, and is marketed as an “iconic modern creme lip color” that “provides beautiful, lasting, moisturizing shine in a water-light texture.” As promised, it glides on smoothly and beautifully, while keeping the lips hydrated and comfortable. Also, there’s so many shades to choose from, I’m sure there’s bound to be a shade that appeals to everyone. The light texture of the formula is my favorite part of the Rouge Coco Shines — it’s thin yet delivers good amount color — that way, it doesn’t feel heavy or ‘product-y’ on the lips.

012

013

Priced the same as YSL’s Glossy Stains, these Rouge Coco Shines are definitely high-end. But I think they’re worth the price and hype. The shade “86 Instinct” is not necessarily a ‘your lips but better’ kind of color, and understandably, it’s not that entirely unique. But it’s the subtleness of the color that is the secret to this product. The barely-there baby-pink tone is pretty and glossy on the lips, and can be paired with an every day look or a more smokey look. Either way, it proves to be quite versatile.

Made in France.
Retails for $34.00 USD.

Leave a Reply

