REVIEW: Laura Mercier Matte Radiance Baked Powder Compact – Highlight – 01

I was avoiding highlighters for the past few weeks because I wasn’t in the mood. But when I saw the new Laura Mercier Matte Radiance Baked Powder Compact highlighter, I couldn’t walk away from it! The name, I admit, confused me because I initially thought it was an all-over face powder; kind of like the MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural. BUT, this is a highlighter — and, a great one at that. Dare I say that this is my new favorite? :)

005

I’ve always been a fan of baked products. They’re fun to use, but they’re also glowy by nature. While I’m really into the dewy look, sometimes they can make you look greasy during the summer. Also, I’m kind of over the glittery-shimmery look as well, so I try to avoid highlighters that give me that kind of look.

006

Sephora describes this product as “an ultrasmooth baked face powder that provides natural color with soft matte radiance” to “wake up the skin” and “provide natural color with a radiant, healthy glow for a flawless, no-makeup look.”

The product claims to provide “sheer, buildable coverage” that “lets you customize your glow, while the modern, multidimensional matte finish imparts a hint of soft luminosity.” The “ultralightweight formula feels weightless on skin and applies smoothly and blends effortlessly. The smooth, silky, velvety texture feels comfortable, while the long-wearing formula lasts up to eight hours and stays color-true without oxidizing for an even wear.”

007

First of all, it’s not really matte, so that’s kind of confusing. Because the product itself is already glowy, it’s impossible for it to be matte. It doesn’t make feel or look oily, but it certainly isn’t matte. Also, saying that the product is sheer with buildable coverage is also misleading — see? This is why I thought the product was an all-over face powder; but, with it being so glowy — who would wear this ALL OVER? As a highlighter, it works great for the tops of your cheeks, but I certainly wouldn’t dust this all over my face.

However, I do agree that the product helps you look radiant. The color is natural and definitely helps with the no-makeup look, for sure. Like all domed and baked products, it is silky and the texture is beautifully velvety. I love it as a highlighter. Definitely NOT as a face powder, however, lol.

0.26 oz.
Retails for $36.00 USD.

One thought on “REVIEW: Laura Mercier Matte Radiance Baked Powder Compact – Highlight – 01

  1. Pingback: Laura Mercier Matte Radiance Baked Highlight 01 & Bronze 01 Review

Leave a Reply

