REVIEW: YSL Volupte Sheer Candy Glossy Balm Crystal Color #12 – “Tasty Raspberry”

For a long time, I avoided the YSL Volupte Sheer Candy Glossy Balm Crystal Colors because 1.) I was afraid to fall in love with them; and, 2.) I wasn’t sure they were worth the hype. I know, such mixed emotions, right? :) As a recent treat for myself, I caved and purchased the Sheer Candy Glossy Balm Crystal Color in Tasty Raspberry #12, and I’m happy to report that I love it and sad because I want more.

Marketed as a “glossy lip balm,” it’s easy to dismiss this product as an overpriced lip balm that works just like the Revlon Lip Butters. I can say already that this item isn’t necessary nor is it life-changing by any means, and the only reason why people purchase this product is because it’s pretty, smells divine, and makes you feel fancy. The texture of the formula is very hydrating and glossy — essentially, this is an all in one product with color, high-gloss shine, and hydration. Normally, I would layer on some regular lip balm before any lip product application. However, with this, it does save a step.

photo (1)

Also, the product is pigmented. If it weren’t, I feel like it would receive mediocre reviews. But seeing as how reviews are very positive, there’s very little to complain about. The formula “dresses your lips in a sheer veil of brilliant color boosted with vitamin- and antioxidant-rich fruit extract,” so it feels nice on your lips. “Its ultra-light, sensual texture leaves lips feeling soft and hydrated for up to eight hours and is ideal for year-round use.”

photo

The shade “Tasty Raspberry” is a natural color that mimics my natural lip tone. Because the colors in the range are so bright and vibrant, I was uncomfortable with going with something that was too loud, lol. The feeling of this balm is amazing on the lips and even the LINES on my lip are totally erased with this product. Hydration and color pigment are long-lasting, even though conversation and morning coffee; and, even after the color and balm itself has worn off, my lips aren’t dry at all.

I totally recommend this as a treat. In my opinion, I’d choose these babies over the Chanel Rouge Coco Shines — for sure.

$32.00 USD.
Made in France.

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: YSL Volupte Sheer Candy Glossy Balm Crystal Color #12 – “Tasty Raspberry”

  1. i actually prefer these over the lipsticks! I have the Succulent Pomegranate (no 4) and I use it as a colour/lip balm pretty much daily. I love the light pink colour of this one!

Leave a Reply

