REVIEW: Dior Capture Totale Multi-Perfection UV Base SPF 50 PA+++

I got the Dior ‘Capture Totale’ Multi-Perfection UV Base SPF 50 PA+++ just to see what it was about, and I’m happily very satisfied with this multi-functional product. While I’m not entirely familiar with Dior skincare lines, I’ve read some good things about the Capture Totale anti-aging range.

006

As you know, I’m never without any sun protection all-year-round. I was drawn to this product because of the high SPF marketed as a “UV Base.” I asked the sales associate if I could skip regular sunscreen while wearing this, and she said yes. At first, I was skeptical; but, I’m relieved to report that I can skip sunscreen and primer which cuts out two steps for me.

007

The “Capture Totale age-defying skincare line acts at the level of the deepest youth-preserving cells. The light, silky UV base provides ultimate protection, unique comfort and melts instantly into the skin. Day after day, your complexion becomes more even and youthfully luminous, smoother and radiant with a perfect finish.”

There appears to be many benefits — your “skin regains firmness [while it] revitalizes the facial contours,” and “plumps the skin [as it] becomes full and regains volume and density.” The product “smoothes and illuminates [as] skin reflects light for a radiant look.”

High claims along with a high price point. I like the idea of an all-in-one before foundation, which helps my skin feel less oily during the day. While it may not seem like much that cutting out two steps can really save time, but it really does, lol.

008

Packaging is sleek and nice with a good pump. The color of this product is a lightly pearlized pink tone that blends white onto the skin. While this may not be an issue for those with fiar skin tones, it may leave a white cast for those who are medium toned or darker. Blending is only easy when you’ve freshly layered moisturizer underneath, but it can feel quite dry since it dries matte on the skin. While I can’t say this has superb oil-controlling capabilities, this may not be a good option for those with drier skins either.

Once blended out, pores are concealed and redness and has calmed significantly. Blending foundation or BB cream on top is wonderful because everything just glides on. On good skin days, you can probably get away with this, some concealer, and powder. It’s a great multi-functional product and I really like how reliable it is with keeping your makeup on your face AND shielding your face from the sun.

009

For the price, this is not magical but I like that it’s a primer and sunscreen in one. And, really, all these high claims about the product performing miracles is getting old, LOL. However, it does help with luminosity and the longevity of your makeup. And, more importantly, I’m quite satisfied with the sun protection — which is what counts for me. I can’t say that all the fancy anti-aging ingredients is doing anything for me though.

010

Tomorrow, I plan on pairing this with my DiorSkin Nude BB Creme. I’m thinking it would be an awesome combination!

1.3 oz.
Made in France.
Retails for $65.00 USD.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Dior Capture Totale Multi-Perfection UV Base SPF 50 PA+++

Leave a Reply

