REVIEW: Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation SPF 15

I hate to write a post about a discontinued product, but I found the Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation at a local CCO (Cosmetics Company Outlet) and can’t stop using it. In fact, I don’t understand why it was discontinued in the first place since it was getting nearly perfect reviews everywhere.

For those of you who have access to a CCO, give this foundation a try – especially if the Chanel Perfection Lumiere foundation was a bust for you, and you’re still in the market for a long-wear foundation! :)

001

Compared to the Chanel Perfection Lumiere foundation, this one performs better, applies better, and looks better. I say this with caution since there’s loyal Chanel foundation users out there. But, I remember my biggest complaint with its formula was that it was so difficult to blend because it was kind of thick and dried quickly.

Enter: Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation SPF 15. Holla!

002

First of all, the formula is thin and runny – but it’s not a gel-type either. Second, blendability is superb. You can swipe some on your face, buff it out, and then that’s it. No streaks and no super fast drying. Third, the “soft-matte” finish gives you an oil-free glow that isn’t flat or overly dewy. It’s perfection, I tell you.

This foundation is oil-free and provides the skin with even, long-lasting, but light-feeling coverage. The “sponge-like powders absorb excess oil on the surface of the skin so you won’t have to reapply powder throughout the day. The emollients lock in moisture to ensure skin remains perfectly balanced, and the transfer-resistant formula helps create a barrier against heat and humidity for eight hours of wear so makeup stays in place.”

Coverage is light to medium and buildable. Oil control is excellent at about 6 hrs before I feel the urge to blot. Also, I don’t powder my t-zone with this foundation because the finish is so pretty.

003

My rant is that this particular formula has been discontinued and replaced with the Long-Wear Even Finish Foundation. However, from research, it appears that the newly formulated product is receiving poor ratings – like here on MakeupAlley and on Sephora’s website.

WHY?? WHY???

004

This time around, my shade is “Warm Ivory 1.” It better suits me because it’s not AS yellow, I think. It blends like a dream and is so natural looking, I’m tempted to just never use tinted moisturizers or BB creams ever again. Although it sounds dramatic, I can’t believe this foundation has been overlooked until after it’s been discontinued!

The texture is light but coverage is good. It feels comfortable on the skin while helping it look so much better. Also, pore coverage is nearly 100% – even the pores on my nose.

005

If you can find this on eBay or at a CCO, then I suggest you try it. I’d skip the new formulation because it doesn’t seem to be doing well. However, if neither option tickles your fancy and you need a long-wearing foundation, try Chanel’s Perfection Lumiere and be prepared to blend fast!

Thanks for reading.

One thought on “REVIEW: Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation SPF 15

  1. I also found this after it was discontinued. I was scraping the bottom of my an old sample (with other high-enders sitting around) and when I went to purchase…I optimistically tried its replacement – oh no, whole ‘nother finish- thicker, kinda plastic looking, made my lines more visible especially when making expressions. Why, oh Why, would Bobbi do this. So cruel. Anyway we can start a consumer campaign? Finding the right foundation IS that difficult.

Leave a Reply

