Chanel Ombres Contraste Eyeshadow Duo – “37 Sable Emouvant”

Personally, it’s been awhile since I’ve been interested in Chanel eyeshadows and took a break while my interests took me elsewhere. Since then, I’ve re-kindled my love for Chanel’s eyeshadow formulations with this duo: Ombres Contraste Eyeshadow Duo in “37 Sable Emouvant.”

“This foolproof pairing of complementary shades—in two unique textures—is housed in one convenient compact.” The compact is slimmer than the quads, which I like since it’s not bulky. No matter what, I’ll always love the glossy black case and the Chanel logo stamped on front. :)

As you can see, this duo is right up my alley. Although I have enough neutral and brown shades to last me a lifetime, compared to my other favorites and must-haves, this duo is unique.

“The softly shimmering light shade is a creamy powder, which can be worn alone for a luminous effect or as a base to extend the wear of the accompanying deep-toned shadow. The dark shade has intense micronized pigments for true color application and a matte finish to create depth and contour.”

The lighter shade is my favorite as an all-over shade. Sometimes I don’t even define the crease and just wear this shade on its own. In the pan, it doesn’t look like much; however, it’s reflective in a non-glittery way. The dark brown shade is the perfect combination of bronze tones and a warm, earthy color. In my opinion, it’s a prettier version of MAC’s “Mulch” eyeshadow.

Two applicators are included and I love them. The sponge-tipped applicator applies smoothly and doesn’t break off like some. The tiny brush is good for applying the darker shade but it doesn’t do much as a blending brush. I think I’ll stick with the MAC 217 for that!

Both shades are smooth and apply softly onto the lid. Pigmentation is wonderful and blendability is superb. There’s no fall-out for me when I apply this and I absolutely love the versatility of this combination. It can be the perfect everyday duo, or you can really pack on the dark brown shade and smoke it out for night out on the town.

I’ve got no complaints about this duo and would recommend it to those who prefer natural looks and for those who favor more dramatic looks. What do you think?

Retails for $42.00 USD.
Made in France.

Leave a Reply

