NARS Pro-Prime Multi-Protect Primer SPF 30 Sunscreen / PA +++

I’ve been dabbling in primers lately and I’ve been testing out generous samples here and there. I didn’t want to fully commit to buying a product without thoroughly being sure about it since I don’t tend to try primers often. Although I’m a HUGE foundation/makeup base fan, I never really thought about primers because it was another layer that I didn’t want to add onto my face.

I decided to purchase the NARS Pro-Prime Multi-Protect Primer because it was my favorite out of all the ones I tried. I don’t like Smashbox products because many years ago, I broke out severely from their products (foundation and primer) and never returned. Laura Mercier’s primers were nice but didn’t do anything for my foundation or my skin. And, while Chanel and Dior’s bases were luxurious, they both felt tacky on top of my skin and made me oily too soon.

The NARS Pro-Prime Multi-Protect Primer is nice because it has sun protection built into it, it felt nice and smooth on my skin, and most of all, it didn’t interfere with makeup application. Also, I DID notice that my dewier foundations lasted longer and looked better on my skin.

Bonus points for being able to wear this alone on lazy-days! It evens out my skin by itself so when I’m not doing anything speical, this primer and some concealer is all I need.

According to the product’s insert, this primer is multitasking and has “anti-oxidants, anti-irritants, and anti-pollution skincare benefits to protect and soothe the skin to create an immaculate canvas.” The primer is designed to protect against “UVA & UVB rays that cause photo aging and protects skin against urban pollutants that can lead to dryness and irritation.”

Important ingredients include:
Gentiana Urnula, a flower that withstands harsh summers in the Himalayas and rpovides anti-oxidant protection, helping ward off free-radical damage.

Indian Frankincense balances reactive skin because of its soothing and calming properties.

The texture of this primer feels ultra-light yet creamy. It looks slightly transparent – almost like gel. A little bit goes a long way and the product blends easily. Upon application, there’s a slight slippery yet hydrated feeling on the skin but the product absorbs instantly. Foundation applies like a dream and everything looks vibrant and healthy (even though there’s no shimmers or glimmers in the product).

This is good at hydrating AND absorbing oil – weird, but true. Mineral powders within the product blur lines and wrinkles, and pores are nicely “filled in” as well. I’m thoroughly impressed after a long trial and being disappointed with many of the hyped up primers.

How do you guys feel about primers? I recommend this product – but only if you’re in the market for a primer. If you already have pretty good skin and you’re looking to cheat without using foundation, this is great for smoothing and evening out your skin. :)

1 oz.
Retails for $32.00.
Made in USA.

Leave a Reply

