DiorSkin Nude Skin-Glowing Makeup 010 “Ivory”

In a random magazine article, I once read that Natalie Portman’s favorite foundation was the DiorSkin Nude Skin-Glowing foundation. Of course, she is the face of the brand, but I was intrigued and wanted to see for myself – despite the fact that I have enough foundations to last me a lifetime. :)

The concept of the nude skin-glowing foundation is to mimic skin’s texture and feel. It claims to be “enriched with naturally derived skincare ingredients for a complexion that is even more ‘nude’ and sublime in all types of lighting.” This “hydrating fluid foundation delivers just the right amount of coverage to create a naturally flawless, bare-skin effect.”

Though it promises to “improve radiance and beauty of the skin day after day,” I would say that that’s a far-reaching claim. However, I do think that the ‘good-for-your-skin’ foundations nowadays help skin look good under the makeup, therefore helping it feel better once the makeup has been removed.

The product’s insert says that the “art of the Nude skin look is to create the illusion of beautiful and radiant bare skin that looks completely natural.” I would agree that the watery formula is very lightweight and thin – BUT it doesn’t compromise coverage. The texture of the foundation feels cooling and nice on the skin and blends very easily – blurring imperfections and pores along the way.

Again, according to the insert, the Nude Skin-Glowing Makeup was “inspired by skin,” so the idea behind the formulation is to “offer every skin the ideal complexion.” Apparently, the foundation’s pigments are the same color as the skin’s melanin pimgents; and light-perfecting pigments allow it to adjust in various lightings (outdoor and indoor). The “unique combination of Mineralized Water and Floral Water” contribute to helping the skin become more beautiful and radiant.

I chose the shade 010 which is “Ivory.” It is the first and lightest shade in the range and I’m quite happy with it. It’s quite close to NARS “Mont Blanc” shade and Chantecaille’s Just Skin foundation in “Alabaster.” The product has a lot of fancy claims, but what I like about the product is that it’s so natural looking on the skin. In my opinion, the texture of this foundation is deceptive – it looks lightweight and gelish when dispensed from the bottle. However, I’ve had difficulties with getting it to blend quickly and streak-free. I find that I have to buff and buff and buff to get the results I want.

010 “Ivory” is not entirely yellow-based and leans towards neutral. It’s slightly pinky toned much like “Mont Blanc” but not so much that it makes me look pink. The coverage is medium and buildable, but pore coverage isn’t as good as some of my other foundation. I like to apply it more sheerly since I don’t require a lot of coverage, but I love how it’s an INSTANT pick-me-up for the skin. It’s instantly brightening and glowy and the finish is semi-matte/dewy.

If you’re looking for a foundation that isn’t too matte and isn’t too dewy, this is great because it’s the best of both worlds. The ‘glow’ that it adds to the skin is natural and very healthy looking; and, I personally like that it’s infused with skincare ingredients. I can’t say for sure that all the fancy ingredients are doing a whole lot, but I can say that it isn’t making anything worse. I like the final finish of the product and how my skin looks throughout the day; however, the application is not my favorite – whether I use a buffing brush or the beauty blender. I’m considering using my fingers for awhile to see if that makes a difference.

*Quotes extracted from http://www.sephora.com, the product’s box, and the product’s insert.

1 fl. oz.
Retails for $48.00 USD
Made in France

4 thoughts on “DiorSkin Nude Skin-Glowing Makeup 010 “Ivory”

  1. Hi, I’m a blogger from Poland. I found your blog when I was looking for pics of Diorskin Nude foundation. A few weeks ago I bought one via ebay and I’m guite disturbed by the way the bottle looks like. Here in Europe Diorskin Nude bottle has sunscreen info as follows: “FPS 15 SPF”. On my bottle (identically as on yours) there is “Broad spectrum SPF 15” insription and that is why I’m afraid I got a fake one. Could you tell me, please, where did you buy your foundation? Are you sure it is original? Do you know the reason of such a difference? I’d be grateful for your response, Cammie.

Leave a Reply

