Too Faced La Crème – “Naked Dolly”

It seems that all brands and companies across the board are coming out with the hybrid-style lipstick: pigmented color, yet moisturizing formula that doesn’t compromise the comfort of your lips. Because everyone is jumping on the band wagon, it’s gotten increasingly difficult to pick a “favorite.”

For me, however, Chanel’s Rouge Coco Shine will always reign supreme. I don’t mind experimenting and reporting back though. :)

Too Faced came out with new lipsticks luxuriously named La Crème. It is described as “a rich and creamy lip color infused with moisturizing and strengthening benefits.” With 16 available shades, it’s kind of nice to have a wide color range to play with.

The formula is amazing. Very moisturizing and keeps your lips looking smooth and even. I also noticed that even after the color has worn off, the moisturized feeling is still left behind. I like it and it feels nice on the lips so no complaints there.

Sephora claims that La Crème will “indulge lips with luxurious color and super moisturizers including white lotus flower and power peptides.” This lipstick range “comes in abundant shades in four essential color ranges: nudes, spices, pinks, and reds.”

The color range in the categories listed above is nice because I think different skin tones can find flattering lip colors this way. If you’ve noticed, nudes, reds, pinks, and everything in between comes with different undertones. This is a deal breaker if it doesn’t compliment your skin tone.

My favorite nude may not work with your skin tone. Also, I’ve noticed that your natural lip color will play a role in how the color of the lipstick will look you.

My shade here today is “Naked Dolly,” which is loosely described as a “satin pink.” It’s a nudey-pink with very little beige undertones. This is good for fair to light skin tones and will work for those with golden and neutral undertones. I don’t think it will be very safe for those with pinker or olive undertones.

The shade is quite pale and applying too much will makeup your lips look scale-y and dry even when it’s not. My gripe with the formula is that it’s TOO moisturizing – in fact, it’s slippery on your lips and will get everywhere – your coffee cup, in your hair when the wind blows, your boyfriend, etc.

The color is pretty swatched on my arm but didn’t do much for me on my lips. It just blended in and looked like I slightly muted my lips. The waxy feel leaves a weird taste in my mouth sometimes but it’s not the end of the world for me. It’s buttery smooth and good, safe color. For me, it’s nothing special because I own tons of shades like this. The formula reminds me of Revlon’s Lip Butters.

What do you guys think? Yay or nay? For me, nay.

Ingredients:
Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Sterols, Vegetable Oil, Polybutene, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Diisostearyl Malate, Polyethylene, C12-15 Alkyl Lactate, Isostearyl Hydroxystearate, Triisostearyl Citrate, Trimethylolpropane Triisostearate, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax (Candelilla Cera/Cire De Candelilla),Isostearyl Isostearate, Tridecyl Trimellitate, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Flavor (Aroma), Limonene, Benzyl Benzoate, Citral, Linalool, Geraniol, Hydrogenated Polycyclopentadiene, Nelumbo Nucifera Flower Extract, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Tribehenin, Sorbitan Isostearate, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Phenoxyethanol, Mica. May Contain/Peut Contenir (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Red 6 (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 30 Lake (CI 73360), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140).

0.11 oz
$21.00 per tube

Quotes extracted from http://www.sephora.com

Leave a Reply

