REVIEW: Revlon ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup – “Buff”

Introducing Revlon ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup: “Finally, truly decadent makeup offers ultimate performance. The mousse-like texture feels like silk on your skin. And, the time release formula balances skin for a flawless look. All day flexible wear without flaking, caking or feeling heavy.”

-Buildable to full coverage for flawless skin
-Soft, matte finish all day long
-Withstands heat and humidity – great for summer
-Comes in 16 beautiful shades

*quotes extracted from http://www.revlon.com

Another drugstore find has gotten me excited and happy to finally state that yes, I’ve found a drugstore foundation that meets my expectations. The newly released Revlon ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup is the new beauty craze and this product is becoming increasingly difficult to find at various drugstores because of its popularity. My color of choice is “Buff,” even though I debated whether I should purchase “Ivory.”

“Ivory” came off as too pink in my opinion, and “Buff” seemed a bit overly neutral at first. But I’ve discovered that there’s no oxidation and the color and overall look of the foundation gets better and better as the day wears on.

The formula takes some getting used to, especially if you’re like me and you’re used to liquid foundations. It’s a whipped creme foundation so even in the jar, it’s thick, heavy, and mousse-like. At first, this scared me because I was sure that it was going to end up being cakey on my face. A little bit goes a long way, so start off with a small amount and build as you go. After all, it’s easier to add on than to remove.

After dotting some product onto my face, I buff using a synthetic foundation brush. I feel like I have to work quickly and the foundation itself is difficult to move around. Because of its consistency, it doesn’t help that my bare face is matte. I wonder if it will be easier to blend if you apply it onto a freshly moisturized face?

I don’t need to powder and the finish is much like Chanel’s Mat Lumiere – a soft matte appearance that isn’t too glowy/dewy upon application. As it begins to set on your face and the temperature of your body warms up the foundation, it begins to look less flat. And, as the day goes on and your natural oils mix in with it, you’re left with a soft, glowy look that isn’t oily. I like the finish and I like the fact that I don’t need to powder even more.

This foundation is extremely long lasting and stays put. There’s no rubbing off or smudging of any kind; the coverage is medium to full; and, this baby can withstand Texas heat (including the humidity).

Surprisingly, I’m not that bothered by the bulky glass jar. It’s heavy and the weight of it helps it feel a bit more luxurious. It’s obviously not convenient to travel with and it does take up a lot of space; however, most all cream makeup comes in a tub form anyway – even high end. Also, because of the creamy, moussey texture – it wouldn’t be very user friendly if it came in a bottle with a pump. It would probably get clogged all the time!

On the down side, it gets messy. No matter what I do, the sides get messy and the lid gets crusty.

My shade “Buff” is the second lightest shade. It’s not the most exact match for me at first, but it does adjust well onto my skin. To me, it’s too neutral with not enough yellow; but it’s pale enough to be good enough for my skin tone. You can see that the swatch is very creamy and thick, but once you’ve blended it out, it pretty much undetectable and virutally flawless. And, again, I swear this is just like Chanel’s Mat Lumiere foundation. Seriously.

To harp on the color a bit more, I’ve included a swatch of NARS Sheer Glow foundation in “Mont Blanc,” because I feel that this color is the best match for my skin tone EVER. Notice the difference in tone – the NARS foundation is showing up pinker when it’s not because of the heavy neutral tone in Revlon’s “Buff.” I recommend this if you’ve got oily skin or you live in a hot and humid climate. This is also good for those of you who like to specifically have a “summer foundation.” The price varies for this, but I got mine at Target for $12.99. I suspect this jar will last a long, long time.

Even though it isn’t my #1 foundation, it is the most budget-friendly and performs well for the price. The best thing this foundation does is control oil, but because I couldn’t find a good color match, this foundation is a no-go for me.

What are your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Revlon ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup – “Buff”

Leave a Reply

