Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream for Eczema

Dry and itchy skin isn’t normally a symptom in the summer months; however, for eczema sufferers, flare ups can happen at any time. As a child, I had random cases of eczema that would go away quickly; but, I noticed that as I grew older, it never fully went away.

Eczema is a medical condition that causes the skin to become inflamed or irritated, and often the areas are dry, flakey, and itchy. The most common type of eczema is known as atopic dermatitis, or atopic eczema. For me, my flare ups occur around my mouth (closer to my chin) and on my lips. And, annoyingly enough, my lips have been sensitive and itchy off and on for weeks.

I’ve used everything possible on my lips (and on my eczema) including various Eucerin and Aqauphor products. In the end, what worked for me was something I purchased by mistake at Sephora. The Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream was next to the check-out counter at Sephora and I bought it randomly without even thinking about it.

When I got home, I forgot about it until about a month ago.

“Invented by Japanese pharmacist Yoshikiyo Nowatari, Yu-Be (pronounced “YOO-BEE”) is a Glycerin-based moisturizing cream enriched with Vitamin E, Vitamin B2 and Camphor. It’s the uniquely high Glycerin content and absorbability achieved through a special manufacturing process in Japan, which makes Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream so effective.”

YU-BE SKIN CARE KEY INGREDIENT BENEFITS:
Glycerin: “Humectant” attracts and retains moisture in the skin.
Vitamin E: Anti-oxidant and skin protector helps aid healing and reduce scarring.
Vitamin B2: Helps to smooth rough or damaged skin – also gives Yu-Be its yellow color.
Camphor: Helps soothe irritation – scent disappears quickly leaving skin feeling healthy.
Vitamin C: Anti-oxidant and skin protector helps improve elasticity in skin.
Sodium Hyaluronate: Humectant helps retain moisture to smooth rough skin and reduce fine lines.

Yu-Be can be used anywhere on the body – even the face and lips. It can also help heal split cuticles and smooth rough, cracked and dry skin on hands, elbows, knees and feet.

The product absorbs instantly and works for hours without having to re-apply. The non-greasy formula contains NO artificial colors, fragrances, petrolatum or SPF. I like to use this on my lips in the mornings while I’m getting ready. It sinks in in a weird way because although the product has been absorbed, there’s a slicky feeling on my lips that seems to remain even after eating and drinking.

It works perfectly fine underneath lipstick and lipgloss; however, for me, while I’m trying to control the eczema, I skip the lip products and just try to keep them moisturized.

Camphor soothes irritation and stimulates blood circulation to improve overall health of your skin. The scent of camphor is what turned me off this product originally. It’s kind of like Asian medicine but mixed in with mosquito repellent – or something, who knows. In a way, it kind of smells like Carmex, too. The camphor scent fades within minutes, and when applied to the lips, you can’t taste it.

The texture is thick and goopy, much like petroleum jelly/vaseline. The texture is slick but melts into the skin easily and absorbs nicely. It’s great for dry and cracked skin – which is why I decided to try it on my lips and chin area (which were sufferring from an eczema outbreak). At first it stung a bit but then it felt soothed and unirritated. After a few days of this routine, the dry and itchy patches were gone. :)

*Quotes extracted from www. yu-be.com & http://www.webmd.com.
*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)

Leave a Reply

