REVIEW: Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion SPF 60 PA+++

Sticking with my love and need for good sun protection year-round, I decided it was necessary to talk about what I use a non-daily basis – more specifically, when I’m participating in outdoor recreational activities.

Please keep in mind that all the other previous sunscreen reviews I’ve written about have strictly been for my face and daily use.

The Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion contains SPF 60 and is the highest amount of protection level I currently own/use. I reserve this specific product for days when I’m outside for activities such as swimming or for when I’m outside for a long period of time.

It’s considered to be safe for the face and body and is labeled to be “very water resistant.” Realistically, no sunscreen can technically be waterproof – however, Shiseido’s sun protection products have been known to be “sweat-resistant,” “very water resistant,” and “sand proof.”

Compared to my current Shisiedo sunscreen I use daily (underneath makeup), this one is huge at 3.3 oz., while my daily sunscreen is only 1 oz. When I’m outside for longer periods of time, I slather on sunscreen liberally all over and re-apply frequently – so, perhaps the bigger container is an advantage.

As “a highly nourishing sunscreen lotion for the face and body,” this product is excellent at “prevent[ing] sunburn, cell damage, and premature signs of aging.” Considered to be a “skincare essential,” the Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion protects against both UVA/UVB rays. It is “formulated with rose apple leaf extract [to] deliver excellent antioxidant [benefits] and fortifies skin against UV-caused DNA damage.”

Shake the bottle well before applying since this is a sunscreen that is watery and runny. Compared to the Chanel UV Essentiel, Shiseido’s Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion is more runny and thin in consistency. It does not leave a white cast nor does it have a filmy texture. The product dries matte and absorbs instantly into the skin; it blends easily and is lightweight. Again, it’s great to layer underneath makeup, but when I’m out at the pool, I usually forego all face makeup anyway.

Even after repeated application, it doesn’t get cakey or thick. I also apply this to my ears and around my neck and chest because it isn’t thick and sticky like most traditional sunscreens out on the market. For the rest of my body, I’ll use Neutrogena or Copperstone sunscreen since I don’t want to waste my Shiseido one. :)

Ingredients:
Water, Cyclomethicone, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Polybutylene Glycol/PPG-9/1 Copolymer, Dimethicone Copolyol, Dextrin Palmitate, Xylitol, Methyl Gluceth-10, Glutathione, Zinc Myristate, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Thiotaurine, Scutellaria Baicalensis Extract, Ectoin, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Acrylates/Dimethicone Copolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Isostearic Acid, Stearic Acid Disteardimonium Hectorite, Silica, Alcohol, Trisodium EDTA, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Fragrance, Titanium Dioxide.

3.3 fl. oz.
Retails for $39.00.
Made in USA.
Formulated in Japan.
Container made in Japan.

*Quotes extracted from http://www.sephora.com.
*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)

Leave a Reply

