Recent Eye Routine: The “Smudgey” Look

Very rarely do I purposely try to look messy or “smudgey” – in this case – however, as of late, I’ve been going for the effortless look. The funny thing about looking effortless is that it takes so long to make it look like you just threw any particular look together.

Remember all that marketing geared towards the “bedhead” look, yet it took so many products and time to achieve it? And, weird how all the tutorials out there for “natural makeup” takes just as long as a dramatic look? Well, this is no different. :)

My smudgey look is still structured because I don’t want to look like I’ve partied all night, then slept in my makeup, and then walked around in public the next day. “Smudgey” to me revolves around the idea of using cream products to get the look down, and then using powder products to lock it in place. After all, we don’t want the look to continue smudging throughout the day.

My tools:
-MAC eyeshadow “Jest”
-MAC eyeshadow “Satin Taupe”
-MAC eyeshadow “Charcoal Brown”
-KOJI eyelash curler
-Shiseido mascara base + Majorilca Majorca Lash Expander Frame Plus mascara + L’oreal Voluminous mascara
-Laura Mercier Caviar Stick Eye Color in “Cocoa”

The look itself was very simple – and the key to it all is blending everything sloppily.

First, I applied Laura Mercier Caviar Stick Eye Color in “Cocoa” and blended it in with my fingers. I concentrated most of the color in the outer corners, then added MAC “Satin Taupe” over everything covering my entire eyelid. While that sets, I take the “Cocoa” and line my lower lashline smudging it before it dries. MAC “Jest” is a peachy pearlescent shade that I like to apply in the inner corners to brighten the look – that way it still looks somewhat put together. I blend MAC “Charcoal Brown” in the crease line to fade the top portion of the color, so that it doesn’t have a stark line.

Lastly, I curl my lashes and apply my base and mascara. After it dries, I used L’oreal Voluminous mascara to add clumpy volume. The clumps are intentional and add drama to the look. I kept my eyebrows light because I felt that my eye look was already drawing enough attention for the most part. I personally think this is a great look to wear with a messy top knot bun, denim cuffed shorts, and a loose top. It’s an effortless-looking look that is still fun and dramatic, yet unsloppy. There is a fine line between intentional sloppy and hot mess, right?

*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)

Leave a Reply

