REVIEW: Laura Mercier Eye Basics

I hope everyone’s had a good week, but I’m glad that it’s nearing the end and the weekend is almost here. Although I’ll be quite busy straight through the weekend, I didn’t want to neglect writing about another phenomenal Laura Mercier product!

Laura Mercier‘s Eye Basics range includes a total of 6 shades in various tones that will suit every skin color out there. I like that there’s a color for everyone, unlike the Urban Decay Primer Potion and the Two Faced Shadow Insurance. Eye Basics is unique because it functions as an “eyelid foundation” almost – after all, don’t we conceal our undereye area? And, why is that we neglect the eyelids?

Laura Mercier Eye Basics “creates the perfect canvas for eyes by camouflaging eye imperfections and enhancing the durability of eye makeup,” according to the website. I call it “eyelid foundation” because before it acts as an eyeshadow base/primer, it neutralizes the color on your lids and evens them out – like a foundation would for your face. Some people have discolorations, veins, and other various imperfections due to thin skin around the eyes. Going back to fundamentals, this is why there’s such a fuss about good eye creams. Because the skin around our eyes are the thinnest, it ages the fastest.

The packaging is exactly the same as LM’s lipglosses. The sponge-tip applicator doesn’t bother me, and in fact, I prefer it since it’s easy to dab the product onto the lids. A little goes a long way so there’s no need to swipe it on or anything like that. Just a little dab will do.

Also, it absorbs instantly and the finish is a smooth, semi-matte texture that isn’t sticky. I never got attached to any of the other primers out on the market because I felt like it took too long to dry. And, I discovered that if I applied eyeshadow prematurely, my shadow application would be patchy and uneven. In the past, I also found it difficult to blend any of my eyeshadows.

The color I’ve chosen is “Flax,” and is described by Sephora as a “pearlized beige.” I like how the subtle pearlized sheen helps the eyelids look alive, rather than being flat – which is unnatural and unflattering. This product is great to pair with powder eyeshadows and cream eyeshadows; or, it can be great just on its own.

The creaminess of the product helps it spread easily onto the lids and the color itself blends into your natural skin tone. Because everyone gets their appropriate shade, we all have a fair chance with various eyeshadow colors. I feel like many of the primers out there altered the original eyeshadow colors. And, is it just me, or did the Urban Decay Primer Potion go on ashy for some skin tones?

As a “water-resistant and crease-proof” base, it “corrects imperfections and discoloration on the lid,” according to Sephora. I don’t see any other primers doing that! I don’t think this product magically helps ANY eyeshadow look more vibrant or more anything really. It just makes the color what it’s supposed to be, which I like. If I wanted a more vibrant eyeshadow color – I don’t think it’s the primer’s job to do that; it’s the eyeshadow’s job!

This product was tested on my combination skin and semi-oily lids in the Texas heat and humidity, and has survived long work days and long nights out as well. On days when I don’t want to mess with eyeshadows and blending, I apply “Flax” and then some dark brown eyeliner and I’m good to go. Here: I’ve used “Flax” and MAC eyeliner in “Coffee.” Since my look was so natural, I paired my naked-eye-look with slightly darker brows, using MAC “Espresso” eyeshadow to shade in the brows with my angled liner brush.

Made in USA.
Retails for $24.00.

Quotes extracted from http://www.lauramercier.com and http://www.sephora.com.
*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Laura Mercier Eye Basics

  1. Hey girly! Great review! I love your site! I just started following your blog!I am just starting out my blog, and it will contain reviews on cosmetic and skincare products I purchase on my many trips to Sephora! I’ll be including the good, the bad, and the ugly! All my reviews are 100% my own. The name of my blog is breakfastatsephora. If you could also follow my blog, that would be appreciated! Thanks and stay beautiful lovely! :)

Leave a comment