REVIEW: MAC Mineralize Concealer NW15

Normally, I’m a foundation junkie and I tend to overlook concealers. Unless I’m having a seriously undisguisable skin catastrophe, I stick with 1 layer of foundation application and dab more where I need it (if I need to). Luckily, under-eye circles haven’t been a problem for me; and, I think genetics has a lot to do with that.

I purchased the MAC Mineralize Concealer in NW15 out of curiosity – at first. The reason why I say that is because it was recently launched and the display looked cool and drew me in. I know, I’m such a sucker.

None of the other MAC concealers have ever attracted me; but, I know that there’s a cult following. Many women swear by a particular MAC concealer and don’t stray. As I said, this is strictly all experimental for me so unfortunately, I cannot compare this to any of the other MAC concealers. The tube is much like the others MAC carries, but the rubbery handle is more like a NARS thing. I don’t particularly care for it since it tends to attract other leftover makeup products from your fingers to the handle.

Also, notice the different applicator itself. It’s a very thin brush instead of a sponge-tip, which is excellent for dabbing onto particular areas and swiping thinly along problem areas.

So far, the concealer isn’t goopy around the applicator. However, product tends to goop around the edges of the tube. I find this annoying because I’m constantly cleaning it off since I don’t want it to transfer to my makeup bag or to other products. Also, I find it kind of wasteful since technically, the “goop” could be perfectly usable.

I use shade NW15. I’m thinking about also getting NW20. Normally, the NW range has more pinkish undertones; however, it seems that ALL the mineralize concealers tend to run yellow. The NC range is really, really yellow.

According to the MAC website: “Enriched with minerals and nourishing botanicals, this creamy, easy-to-blend Concealer covers and perfects while moisturizing the skin. Comfortable and longwearing. Provides medium coverage with a natural luminous finish.”

The texture is not hard like Studio Fix and it’s a little on the watery side for a concealer. In fact, on days I want to skip foundation – I slap this onto my cheeks and around my nose (sometimes my chin), blend it out quickly with a small foundation brush, dust on some powder and blush – and I’m good to go.

It’s great at cancelling out redness and covers up spots wonderfully. In my opinion, I find that it isn’t a heavy-duty concealer and if you have major discolorations, I don’t see this product doing much for you. The consistency is much like a tiny foundation, which is why I use it when I don’t feel like applying foundation all over my face. For hard-core coverup, a dry and harder formula like Studio Fix or Laura Mercier’s concealer may do the trick. While researching, I read that those wanting under-eye concealing were severely disappointed in this product due to caking around the eyes and in the lines.

5 mL.
$19 each.

*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: MAC Mineralize Concealer NW15

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get 4 emails with the identical comment. Is there any manner you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

