Foundation REVIEW: Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + #20

Every time I walk by the Make Up For Ever section at Sephora, I look at the foundations, pick a few up, swatch them, and then walk away. Such “camera ready” foundations have scared me because I instantly assume they will be cakey and thick. I imagine my pores clogging and my face feel trapped under a thick layer of unappealing makeup. Quite dramatic, I know.

I was proved wrong with the surprising purchase of the: Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + foundation in the shade #20. MakeupByTiffanyD from YouTube has always raved about this; and, recently, Laura from buynowbloglater.com, spoke highly of this foundation – so, yes, I caved.

According to the box: “Mat Velvet + evens and matifies the skin. Its amino acid coated pigments provide both stability and durability to the makeup. The formula, rich in wheat amidon complex, covers imperfections, neutralizes the shiny areas, and leaves a velvet finish. After silicone-evaporation, its oil-free texture leaves a non-greasy and comfortable finish.”

For normal, combination, and oily skin types.
Dermatologist tested. Senstive skin tested. Non-comedogenic.

Shade #20 (Ivory) is for light skin with beige undertones. It is the second lightest shade in the range, but the first lightest shade in the “beige range.” #15 is for those with fair skin and pink undertones; and #25 is for those with light skin and pink undertones. From what I gathered, for those of you with more beige/yellow undertones like me, #20, #30, #40, etc. should work out. For those with pinker undertones, consider #15, #25, #35, etc.

This foundation is surprisingly lightweight and the liquidy-gel texture smooths evenly onto the skin. It dries matte, stays put, and controls oil amazingly throughout the day. Since it’s non-comedogenic, it’s non-pore-clogging; and, as a person with sensitive skin, this product did not cause any irritaitons or breakouts.

According to Sephora: “Research results – Study panel composed of 22 adults (using a 48 hour patch test) showed this product to be non-irritating and non-comedogenic.” Sephora’s wesbite describes this foundation as “a shine controlling, oil-free, water-resistant, complete coverage liquid foundation.”

I would say that this is absolutely ideal for the upcoming summer; or, if you’re going to be out and about all day and you need your makeup to perform. I like that I don’t have to powder my t-zone, and I only have to blot once halfway through the day. Sounds good to me! I don’t know about all the “amino acid complexes” or whatever, but it doesn’t bother my skin so I’m fine with that.

My only gripe is that even though the application is smooth – it highly depends on what tool you use to apply it. Because this foundation provides impressive coverage, you could accidentally make yourself look too made up or even cakey if you’re not careful. In order to avoid looking like I have a mask of foundation on, I use synthetic buffing brushes to help. I noticed that I have this exact same problem with Chanel Perfection Lumiere. Perhaps it’s the long-lasting foundations that have these tendancies?

I suggest using the Sigma F84 angled buffing brush or the Sephora Airbrush Precision Foundation Brush #56 for some buffing action. They help to blend the foundation beautifully and flawlessly. No streaks!

Another great tool is the Beauty Blender sponge. Just wet it under running water, squeeze out excess moisture, and use it to dab in the foundation onto your face. Of course, a dampened regular sponge will also do the trick as well. The reason why I suggest these tools is because sometimes a perfectly good foundation can be rejected by the user because of the wrong tool. This foundation has the potential possibility to be considered “heavy duty” or “camera ready,” which can can make everything seem unnatural or over done; and, obviously, that’s too much for every day life. Sheer it out and see how you like it.

This would be the perfect foundation option for “bad skin days” or when you wake up with a few breakouts and blotchiness. It is excellent at covering redness instantly, and for me, I can skip powder and concealer when using this. Personally, I prefer a dewy finish that mimics real skin, and I feel that this foundation is a bit much for me most days. I have to either manually apply highlight to my face, or just wait an hour or so for the foundation to settle and set with my natural oils. At about the 4th-5th hour, I see my oil “breaking through” so I don’t have to blot until about the 6th-7th hour.

As always, thanks for reading.
Made in France.
1 fl.oz.
Product retails for $36.00.

*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)

3 thoughts on “Foundation REVIEW: Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + #20

  1. I love this foundation. Parred with a setting spray, I can make it thru 110 degree summers working outdoors. I like using a flat foundation brush to apply it, with liquid illuminator. (Becca opal) . I then use a sephora 55 brush to blend it out. I get complements from the girls at work jealous that my makeup stays put.

Leave a Reply

