Urban Decay Lush Lash System

Other than perfect skin, it’s pretty obvious women wish for thick, luscious, curled lashes. In fact, that’s why every one is always on the hunt for that perfect mascara that does it all. I read in a magazine a few months ago that if we were to choose ONE makeup item to put on before leaving the house, 85% of women chose mascara. In my experience, whether a mascara is high end or low end, it never did anything to me. Who cares about the formula when you don’t have any eyelashes for it to adhere to?

During the week of Thanksgiving, I purchased Urban Decay’s Lush Lash System because I didn’t want to go on a prescription for Latisse and I didn’t want to pay $80+ for a lash growing/strengthening serum. Based on the reviews I read on the internet, I was sold!

This dual ended product comes with a eyelash serum + conditioning mask. According to Urban Decay’s website, the “lash system [is] for 25% longer, thicker lashes in just 2 weeks.” It claims to show “40% improvement [in lash strength and growth] in 4 weeks and 63% in 6 weeks.” So here we are nearly 5 months later, and I’ve been diligently and faithfully applying this before bed after my night time skincare routine.

Bottom line – did it work for my teeny weeny Asian eyelashes? YES.

HOW DOES IT WORK? “The clear gel-like serum accelerates the growth of your lashes with peptides. Use the tiny brush to apply it at your lash line. It penetrates at the root and stimulates keratin to lengthen, thicken and fortify your lashes. Simply brush it on each night before bed. The conditioning mask applies with a wand and loads your lashes with growth peptides and high potency ingredients like Panthenol and Vitamin E. Your conditioned lashes can now resist loss and breakage from being too dry and brittle.”

It’s so easy to use but it’s so important to use it EVERY night. Blend it into your nighttime routine so you don’t forget. I use the fine tip portion and apply to my lashline, much like liquid eyeliner. This applies clear and dries quickly. Next, I use the spooly end and apply it to my eyelashes, much like mascara. This applies thick onto the lashes and your lashes will be white until it dries clear. I like the theory behind the serum and conditioning mask. Afterall, even though you are “stimulating lash growth,” you have to maintain the lashes you already have along with the new ones coming in.

I’ve been using this for about 5 months and I’m still going strong on the tube. I’m about halfway through and I plan on using the same tube until it runs out. Before this product, I was able to actually count tiny gaps I had between lashes because that’s how few of them I had. Also, since I wear waterproof mascara on the daily, the conditioning mask did wonders.

In my personal opinion, I don’t think the serum “accelerates” any major growth. I think the system together maintains healthy lashes and helps your body keep them as long as possible so that they look fuller. Naturally, your lashes do fall out in cycles on its own. It’s not like all of a sudden I look like I’m wearing false lashes every day, but I do notice what a difference this product has made – especially when I put on mascara in the morning.

The key to using this product successfully is to be patient. You won’t see much of a difference for a few weeks because the process is so gradual. I would say you can see full results in about 2 months of daily use. At $42 a tube, it’s easily accessible because you can get it at Ulta and Sephora; and it’s about half the price of other growth serums out there (and they usually don’t come with a conditioning mask). So really, you’re getting 2 products for $42 and clearly, the system will last more than 6 months.

At this point, I’ve made peace with the fact that this is the best my lashes can do – genetically speaking, haha. I highly recommend this product because it works! :)

*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)
*All pictures taken in natural lighting.

2 thoughts on “Urban Decay Lush Lash System

Leave a Reply

