EOTD: Eye of the Day

Happy Sunday, all. I hope your weekend was as eventful as mine! And, as always, a weekend isn’t a weekend without some shopping. Anyone get aynthing good that they would recommend?

It’s been highly requested that I demonstrate how some of my favorite products are used. As I’ve previously stated in other posts, I’m a neutral-colors gal so many of my eye/makeup looks aren’t exciting with fun colors, shimmers, and false lashes. Because of the atmosphere I work in, I try to keep everything I wear (clothes, makeup) on a very low-key yet sophisticated level. Some of you have asked where I like to shop for clothes – and, I’d have to say that I enjoy Banana Republic, Gap, Nordstrom, and Nordstrom Rack the most. The biggest tip I can give you is to hit up outlets and sales often, and to become a ‘member’ at these stores because you save SO much more that way. Also, you’re able to participate in member-exclusive deals and events.

Another thing to keep in mind is to know where to invest properly, because some key items in your closet are worth shelling out money for because of the quality and longevity. Some items to keep in mind that are worth investing in are black slacks, dark denim jeans, a coat, a blazer, and black leather pumps. Aside from these items, everything else can be purchased for less pretty much wherever, depending on your taste and preference.

Anyway, back to the EYE OF THE DAY – featuring my favorite Burberry eyeshadow (that’s been previously reviewed).

1. “Pale Barley” eyeshadow by Burberry
2. Shiseido mascara base
3. Majorilca Majorca Lash Expander Frame Plus mascara (Japan)
4. L’Oreal Voluminous mascara in “Carbon Black”
5. MAC 217 brush (blending)
6. MAC 263 brush (angled brush – brows)
7. MAC “Charcoal Brown” matte eyeshadow
8. KOJI No. 73 eyelash curler (Japan)

Eyebrows: I used MAC “Charcoal Brown” eyeshadow and the MAC 263 angled brush to fill in my brows. This seems to be a versatile color for brows because I know various people who use this color who range in skin tone, hair color, and ethnicities. I prefer a dark, warm brown color for my brows since I don’t have stark black hair naturally.

Eyelids: No primer – just “Pale Barley” applied onto my lids using the sponge tip applicator (which, by the way, is superb for applying a solid layer of color). Then, I take “Charcoal Brown” again and add to the crease of my eyes and blend it with the MAC 217. Essentially, this is just for some mild definition. Also, “Charcoal Brown” is added to my lower lashline as well.

Eyelashes: I curl my lashes using my KOJI curler and apply Shiseido’s mascara base. I follow that with my trusty (and super water proof) Majorilca Majorca mascara to hold my lashes up in its curl. After a few minutes of working on other areas of my face, I come back to my lashes and apply L’Oreal Voluminous mascara on top of everything for volume and thickness.

As always, thanks for reading.

*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

