Glowy Skin 101

For me, anything that claims to be “illuminating,” “glowy,” or “brightening” has my undivided attention. I think I tend to have a higher degree of faith in a particular product especially when it claims to be such things. Only if it were THAT easy to just slap one product on our face and we’re suddenly angelic and heavenly-looking.

In reality, much of the glow factor has been added on manually – especially since it’s realisitically difficult to look glowy when it’s hot and humid outside and what we’ve really got going on is sweat on our faces. It is what it is.

This is my glow-factor-concoction that provides the effortless look of naturalness plus an extra kick of oomph. This may not be practical for a fun day out at the beach; however, for the purpose of “hanging out and going places,” I think this will suffice.


1. Samantha Chapman Real Techniques Stippling Brush
2. NARS Illuminator in “Copacabana”
3. NARS Sheer Glow Foundation in “Gobi”

I’ve discovered that adding a dollop of Copacabana into a wee bit of foundation is the best way to get an all over glow. Copacabana is a milky white highlighter with subtle pinkish-purpleish iridescent-ness. You can add this into your foundation and mix it before applying it to your face; or, after your foundation application, you can add Copacabana to the areas you want to highlight (like the cheekbones).

NARS Sheer Glow Foundation is one of my favorites and the one I go back to constantly during my foundation rotations. The finish of this foundation is by far my favorite because it’s so light and natural and the light-diffusing properties blur imperfection instantly. Though “sheer” and “glow” are part of the title, I feel that it’s neither sheer nor glowy. It provides good, semi-matte coverage; which, to me, is better than full, matte coverage.

I prefer to do mixing, stippling, and applying with my Real Techniques brush. The soft taklon, duo-fiber bristles work well with the cream products and distribute them evenly on my face. I prefer this over my MAC brush because it’s stiffer and more structured which gives me control.

Do you prefer the dewy look for spring and summer?

*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)

Leave a Reply

