REVIEW: YSL Rouge Pur Couture Glossy Stain #18 – “Rose Pastelle”

I’m featuring my very first YSL product ever today and I’m deathly afraid that I’ve awoken yet another bad habit. Despite my love for luxurious high-end makeup, I’m very careful with what I want to invest in. At the end of the day, it’s the brand name you’re paying for, so the performance and quality of the product is still important and should remain the #1 factor. Unlike some other beauty enthusiasts out there, I don’t purchase products to “collect” because I find it wasteful. I mean, the products DO expire at some point in time.

With that being said, I avoided YSL this whole time because none of the products wow’ed me. In fact, even though I do watch YouTube videos on the daily, YSL makeup never tugged at my heartstrings. I do admit to swatching and playing with the products, but like I said, it never did anything for me and I knew I was going to take my money elsewhere. Now, with the release of the Glossy Stains, I’m doomed.

I went to Sephora and picked up Glossy Stain #18: “Rose Pastelle” and I’m in heaven. While I was there, I “cashed in” my reward points for a moisturizer by Benefit.

Typical YSL packaging here. I’m afraid of getting stratches on it, lol! It’s sleek, shiny, and very portable. One of the things I like about high-end products is their attention to detail regarding the packaging. It certainly doesn’t feel cheap; in fact, this gloss has some weight to it.

Sephora says that YSL’s glossy stains are “a revolutionary new lip product that combines the texture and shine of a gloss with the long-wear of a stain.” This is true. The texture is liquidy and slightly creamy; nothing about this product is sticky in any way. I swear. After application, it’s shiny, the color remains true, and after some of it has worn off, the pigment of the color remains – hence, the “stain.”

Notice the interesting applicator part. The tear-shaped spongey tip is flexible so you can move it around easily to fit the contours of your lip. Fantastic! Also, it doesn’t get all goopy with excess product which is always a plus in my book. On Sephora’s webiste, the applicator is described as having “a unique slanted tip and short soft bristles” that provides a “flawless application with perfect precision.”

So, what does the product do?? –> It “coat[s] your lips with color that offers a lightweight texture, which immediately melts onto lips.” Glossy Stain “delivers intense glossy color for an extremely long-lasting shine.” Again, true. However, I would have to say that it isn’t super long-lasting, but this varies – depending on when you apply this and when after the application you eat, drink, etc.

Normally, products that claim to “stain your lips” dry them out; and products that claim to be “glossy and high shine” are so sticky your lips stick together. Glossy Stains are the best of both worlds: stain + gloss (and the name fits so well).

In a regular swatch, #18 is a cool pink and is one of the lightest shades in the total range of 19 colors. However, on the lips, it transpires as a milky pink. The product is semi-opaque, and from what I saw at the store, all the glossy stains were richly pigmented. On my lips, #18 levels out to be light, nude-ish pink that isn’t tacky like Barbie-pink. Indoor lighting makes this color seem brighter, however. For this particular color, I think the overall outcome of the shades largely depends on what your original lip color is.

Item retails for a whopping $32 for 0.20 oz. GEEZ. It’s a hefty price tag for something so small. As with all high-end products, none of it is actually necessary. I still recommend this product! You deserve a treat. Go get it. :)

*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)

Leave a Reply

