Current Makeup Essentials

It seems to have been awhile since my last beauty related post. Since today was a rather simple day, I’d like to focus on what I’ve been enjoying lately. All products were recently purchased or rediscovered in my bottomless collection.

Items shown: (in no particular order)
Christian Dior – DiorSkin Nude Natural Glow Hydrating Makeup SPF 10 in 010
Clarins – UV Plus Multi-Protection SPF 40
NARS – Cream Blush in “Enchanted”
Revlon Expert tweezers
Sally Hansen – Insta-Dri Anti-Chip Top Coat
MAC – 228 Mini Shading Brush

Since we’re approaching fall/winter, I’ve lowered my SPF protection from an every-day “50” to SPF 40 with the Clarins UV Plus Multi-Protection mineral sunscreen. It is rather watery in texture, absorbs easily into the skin, and most importantly, remains semi-matte before makeup application. It has a light but pleasant scent, appears to be good for sensitive skin, and applies without leaving the usual white-cast from most sunscreens.

NARS cream blush is a rather new purchase for me. I’ve been avoiding cream products because of my combination/oily skin, but I figured I would give it a go since the weather has cooled down. Luckily, it hasn’t been slipping off my face since it’s not summer time anymore – but, the warm peachy shade is still quite faint on my fair skin. It’s good for a lazy Sunday like today, but certainly not enough for a night out or a special occasion.

The DiorSkin Nude Natural Glow Hydrating Foundation was one that I purchased nearly a year ago, but gave up on it after disliking the application, and returned it after a week of experimenting. However, I re-purchased it recently on a whim because I missed its texture and watery glow that I normally prefer in foundations. During the summer, I was hell-bent on finding a formula that would stay put despite the humidity and constant sweating in Texas. However, I discovered that’s probably I disliked it when I first purchased it. Since re-discovering it, I’ve been enjoying the dewy glow and light formula.

Revlon Expert’s tweezer may seem a bit random and out of place in today’s post. But I’ll be one of the few to admit that I’m unsure about the highly coveted Tweezerman tweezers. First of all, there’s the price difference – Revlon Expert runs about $6 at the drugstore and Tweezerman tweezers are $25. Is there such a thing as bad tweezers? Yes – like the ones that snap off the hair before you can pull it out; or ones that pinch your skin all the time. In my opinion, Revlon Expert works the same as Tweezerman for a fraction of the price. It’s just as sharp and precise, easily accessible at drugstores, and less high maintenance (in terms of storing it).

Sally Hansen’s Insta-Dri Anti-Chip Top Coat is another drugstore alternative that I’ve been enjoying. My top coat needs to do 2 things: a.) provide a high shine finish; b.) dry fast. When I mean dry fast – I mean, my nail polish + top coat needs to be dried in 10 mins. Sounds impossible, but I’ve been on the hunt for a good top coat since I’ve been trying to get myself not to use Seche Vite anymore. The warning label is quite scary as it states: “Warning – This product contains a chemical known to the state of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm.” Although I love Seche Vite like everyone else, the warning label scares me and I feel like I need to use a gas mask when using it due to its pungent and deathly odor.

And, finally, MAC’s 228 mini shading brush has been doing wonders for me lately. It’s teeny tiny, but soft and quite stiff. It’s perfect for those with small eyes or small creases. You can really get all up in the small spaces to apply eye shadow or eye liner. I reserve this brush for using darker colors and have been quite happy with the results. For those in the business of makeup artistry, this brush would work well for detailed work as well. In fact, I like this brush so much I’ve convinced myself that I may need one more (or two more). It doesn’t look like much – but it’s quite versatile and I highly recommend.

Happy Sunday! Apologies for a brief post. I promise to get back to some reviews that many have requested.

*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)
*Click on images to enlarge.

One thought on “Current Makeup Essentials

  1. Very awesome blog !! I couldnt have wrote this any better than you if I tried super hard hehe!! I like your style too!! it’s very unique & refreshing…

Leave a Reply

