Current Favorite Products

So, it isn’t a surprise that I’ve accumulated some products recently. But what is surprising is that everything I’m currently enjoying right now are products I wouldn’t normally be enjoying. Why? Well, because most of the products featured in today’s post aren’t normally products I tend to gravitate towards. However, I’m thoroughly impressed by the products and will continue to enjoy them until I get bored. I don’t see myself going back to the store and buying multiples of any of the items mentioned below. I’m trying to cut down on my “hoarding” issue with makeup products, haha.

Featured/pictured items:
Maybelline Baby Lips – “Quenched”
MAC Mineralize Eyeshadow – “Snow Season”
NARS Multiple – “Luxor”
Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter – “Creamsicle”
Skin Transformer SPF 20 – Translucent

Before I begin, let me start with the Skin Transformer – which is translucent by the way – so I didn’t photograph it separately. It claims to “hydrate, enhance, and protect” by using an “active natural complex.” It’s supposed to “instantly transform your skin in one application” as it acts as a “antioxidant-rich hydrating base” that is lightweight and provides “luminous coverage with UVA/UVB SPF 20 protection.” It feels slick at first – not oily – but siliconey, which normally, I would absolutely detest. But once it dries and settles into your skin, you’re left with a smooth and poreless canvas. It’s perfect for no makeup days (with concealer and some powder, of course); or if you want to double up on sun protection and primer – this is a good all in one to apply under your foundation.

This is my second tube of Maybelline Baby Lips, but this time, it’s the flavor “Quenched.” The other tubes available are colored, but I like to stick with lip balms that are clear – that way I’m not committing to a color for the long run. These are fancier than your regular ol’ chapstick, but it’s not completely necessary to have. But, it’s like $7 – so what the heck, right? The packaging is cute and I like the color of the tube. Oh, and the swivel mechanism is neat too. The scent is light and clean and not fruity because I tend to not like those scents. Baby Lips is moisturizing and great for layering under your choice of lip color for the day. Normally, I wouldn’t be so attached to a lip balm. But this stuff really works.

Revlon recently released their new line of Colorburst Lip Butters and everyone is going crazy over them. I was lucky enough to hit up Ulta early enough to snag this one for myself. “Creamsicle” is a light, peachy tone that can be layered. In some cases, with heavy layering, you can actually end up with a very nude lip. So be careful unless that’s the look you’re going for. It’s like if the Maybelline Baby Lips and a moisturizing lipstick had a baby. This product has the benefits of lip balm, with some color to jazz it up a bit. Unfortunately, the color does wear off quickly but the moisturizing benefits do linger. Normally, lip products don’t really impress me because I’m a huge fan of Chanel’s Rouge Coco Shine colors. But Revlon’s Colorburst Lip Butters perform very closely to Chanel’s, and is certainly a great alternative if you don’t want to shell out the money for Chanel’s Rouge Coco Shine colors.

Next, MAC’s Mineralize Eyeshadow in “Snow Season” has been one of my favorite colors lately. At first, I was disappointed that MAC’s holiday collection was released with no regular eyeshadows (except for the palettes). Normally, I’m not a fan of the mineralize eyeshadows, because in the past, I’ve always been disappointed by their lack of pigmentation. I also found that past mineralize eyeshadows flaked off my eyes and would spread glitter all over my face – which was not a look I was going for. “Snow Season,” as you can see, is a mixture of colorful swirls: beigey brown, pinky-peachy tones, with some sparkley purples, along with silver and gold shimmers.

Swatched, it is the perfect icy shimmery color that works perfectly as an inner-corner highlight. The color brightens up the eyes beautifully. Though “Snow Season” comes from MAC holiday 2011 collection “Glitter & Ice,” I won’t be purchasing any other products from the line because they all kind look the same to me!

I’ve been a huge fan of NARS for years, but it’s taken me a long time to warm up to their Multiples. I don’t know, I’ve just never been interested in such a product for highlighting, mainly because I’ve always preferred powder forms. This is interesting, because it’s in a twist-up form but it glides on easily onto the skin. For application, I prefer to use my finger since I don’t want to be rubbing the entire stick onto my cheekbones

“Luxor” is a pearlescent, shimmery highlighter that has hints of pinkish and white tones that perfect for faking “the glow.” It’s not too shimmery that it looks like you’re going to your high school prom, but it provides a healthy sheen when blended in to fake that look of natural health. This is perfect for your cheekbones, under your brow bones, and down your nose. “Luxor” lights up the face perfectly – as if you’re being lit from within by candlelight. I find it very romantic. :)

I hope you’ll try some of these products out, and if you do, I’d love to hear your reactions/thoughts.

*Pictures taken using CANON POWERSHOT SD1300 IS DIGITAL ELPH (12.1 Megapixels)
*Click on images to enlarge.

One thought on “Current Favorite Products

Leave a Reply

